Skip to main content
Elihu Burritt Library homepage
Research Help
In person | Chat | Email
Phone: (860) 832-2060

Primary Sources Research Guide: Find Articles (databases)

A guide for finding primary sources at Elihu Burritt Library

CCSU Digital Collections

Primary Source Databases

19th Century Masterfile (Including Poole's)
The 19th Century Masterfile is an accumulation of various indexes to printed materials from the nineteenth century. The library subscribes to Series I, which includes the following:

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907
Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922
An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899
Index to Periodicals, 1890-1902

African American Periodicals 1825-1995
Based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998), this collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. The publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.


America's Historical Newspapers
Contains the full-text of hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876).

Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. This fully searchable electronic edition allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Subject Guide

Kathy Steadman's picture
Kathy Steadman
Contact:
860-832-2075
Report a Tech Support Issue