Security Certificate Warnings and Library Databases
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks   Tags: apa, citations, mla, off-campus, refworks  

Welcome to the RefWorks Citation Manager LibGuide. Here you will find all the information you need to get up and running with RefWorks.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ccsu.edu/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Helpful Style Manuals

Copies of all style manuals listed below are available at the Reference Desk (3rd floor). Additional copies may be available to borrow. Please check the library catalog for more information.

Cover Art
APA Style Guide to Electronic References - American Psychological Association
Call Number: REFERENCE PN171 F56 A63 2007 (also available Online for CCSU)
ISBN: 9781433807046
A guide to formatting APA citations for Web and electronic sources.

Cover Art
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations - Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: REFERENCE LB2369 T8 2007
ISBN: 0226823369
Publication Date: 2007-04-15

Cover Art
MLA Handbook - The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: REFERENCE LB2369 G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Manual for formatting papers and citations in the MLA documentation system.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REFERENCE BF76.7 P83 2010
ISBN: 1433805596
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Guide to formatting your paper and references according to APA style.

Cover Art
A Student's Guide to History - Jules R. Benjamin
Call Number: REFERENCE D16.3 B4 2004
ISBN: 0312403569
Publication Date: 2003-10-30

 

Getting Started with RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from research databases (EBSCOHost, JSTOR, etc.), the CONSULS catalog, Google Scholar, or text files.

Signing up

To use RefWorks, users must sign up for an individual account.

Creating Folders

 Everyone affiliated with CCSU (faculty, students and staff) can use RefWorks. Users may have many RefWorks accounts, but it is advised to create folders and name them for a specific ongoing project. Click on the New Folder button at the top of the page.

Importing citations into RefWorks  

Visit the following websites to import to RefWorks:

After importing into RefWorks from Burritt Library databases, a button   FindIt @ CCSU  will appear with the citation, which will allow you to easily locate the article.

Managing RefWorks and Creating a Bibliography

When you export articles from Burritt Library databases, the citations will appear in the Last Imported folder. Check the citation(s) for accuracy, and put it in the appropriate folder using the folder dropdown menu.



To create bibliography, take the following steps:

  1. Click on Create Bibliography button near the top of the page.
  2. Choose the style under the Output Style (e.g., APA – American Psychological Association, 6th Edition).
  3. Choose the format of the document (e.g., HTML, Word) using the dropdown menus under File Type
  4. Choose the folder you want from the dropdown menus under References to Include.
  5. Click on Create Bibliography.

 

Report a Tech Support Issue
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip