19th Century Masterfile (Including Poole's)
The 19th Century Masterfile is an accumulation of various indexes to printed materials from the nineteenth century. The library subscribes to Series I, which includes the following:
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907
Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922
An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899
Index to Periodicals, 1890-1902
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
Based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998), this collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. The publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
America's Historical Newspapers
Contains the full-text of hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876).
American Periodicals Series
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals
Ancestry Library Edition
This is the institutional version of Ancestry.com. Access the world's largest online collection of family records and resources, with billions of names from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration records and passenger lists, military histories and records, and more.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
A collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from the pre-18th through 21st centuries.
Boston Globe, Historical (1872-1979)
The Historical Boston Globe (1872-1979) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Chicago Defender 1910-1975
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond the Windy City, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military. This newspaper also supported the aviation career of Bessie Coleman, the first African-American female pilot, and promoted the writing of Langston Hughes and Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks.
Chicago Tribune (Historical 1849-1985)
The Chicago Tribune offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Country, and Environment
This project documents the relationships among peoples from 1534 to 1850. The collection presents the perspectives of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, native americans, and others.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Full-text collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America from 1639-1800. This collection is based on the bibliography originally compiled and edited by Charles Evans.
Hartford Courant (Historical 1764-1984)
Full images of the complete Hartford Courant from 1764-1984. Contains full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. This fully searchable electronic edition allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and other Personal Narratives
Provides indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history from around the world. There are more than 260,000 pages of full-text by over 9,000 individuals from a variety of socio-economic backgrounds.
New York Times Historical (1851-2006)
images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2006, Search by keywork, by date, etc. Images of specific articles and full pages available
Oral History Online
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,500 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 271,000 pages of full-text by some 9,000 individuals from all walks of life.
Readers Guide Retrospective
A comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. The database allows for searching the records of an entire century (1890-1982) of popular magazine coverage, reflecting the history of the 20th century America and its evolving attitudes and cultures. It searches the equivalent of 44 printed cumulations.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
The most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created, Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. Includes the contents of six Alexander Street Press collections, including Oral History Online, Black Thought and Culture, and North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories.
Times Digital Archive
The Complete digital edition of the Times (London) with full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Edition)
The Scholar's Edition of Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 includes all content from the "basic" edition along with the addition an important new resource: The Women's Commission Reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present