In Text CitationsPreparing a Reference ListAPA Sample Paper
Parenthetical DocumentationFormatting a Works Cited ListMLA Sample Paper
Citation examplesChicago Style Notes Bibliography Sample Paper
This is the "MLA Style" page of the "Citing Your Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Your Sources   Tags: apa, citations, citing_sources, mla, plagiarism, style_manuals  

This guide will help you cite your sources properly and avoid plagiarism in your writing
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ccsu.edu/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

MLA Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The MLA Handbook

Cover Art
MLA Handbook - The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Reference LB2369 G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292658
Publication Date: 2016-03-14
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on.

The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.


 

Creating a Citation in MLA 8th edition style

Use the practice template below, to gather and record information about your source.  No matter what type of source you need to cite- paper, digital, books, articles, images websites, videos  You can use this template. Most citations will not have all 9 core elements but you should fill in as many elements as you can. Your goals are to acknowledge the source of information, and to make your audience be able to find that source.

 

Practice Template from the MLA Handbook 8th edition

 

The Citation

On a Works Cited page, each citation will follow this format, with double-spaced lines and a hanging indent, which means every line after the first line of each citation should be indented.

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of source. Title of container, Other

     contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location.

 

Understanding The 9 Core Elements

Element 1 Author, may include one or more names, may be and editor, may be missing

Element 2 Title of Source is for poem, short story, essay, web page or posting, TV episode, and article titles ( in regular font in quotations) and for play and book titles (in italics) (MLA 25-28)

Element 3, Title of container, includes a book that is a collection or anthology, a web site, a TV series, or a periodical (MLA 30). Element 3 appears in italics, and you know it is necessary when the title in element 2 is in quotation marks.

Element 4, Other Contributors, includes adapted by, directed by, edited by, illustrated by, introduction by, narrated by, performance by, and translated by (MLA 37)

Element 5, Version includes edition information, e-book (including if you know what type as in : Kindle ed.) director's cut (MLA 38-39)

Element 6 Number, could be volume number of a multi-volume set, volume and issue of a journal( for example, vol. 148, no. 3), comic book number, season and episode numbers of a TV series (MLA 40-42)

Element 8 Publication date is written Day Abbreviated Month Year (as in 5 Nov. 2016): if it is a season, capitalize the season (as in Winter 2016).

Element 9 Location, is most commonly for page numbers, and preferably for permalinks,  (stable URLs) or DOIs (digital object identifiers) for electronically accessed sources. When using a URL, you may choose to add the opitional element of date of access especially when your website has no publication date (MLA 53) Drop the http:// or https:// at the start of the URL (MLA 110).

Report a Tech Support Issue
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip