LibGuides: Latin American, Latino, and Caribbean Topics Research Guide: Find Websites

Select Websites

Latino History Harvest
The Latino History Harvest contains materials collected, digitized, and archived by CCSU history students on behalf of members of the Greater New Britain community. This website is a work in process. For additional information, please contact Dr. Leah Glaser, Professor of History, CCSU, glaserles@ccsu.edu.
Modern Language Department Immigration Oral History Project
This collection features interviews performed by students of the Modern Language Department. The interviewees are modern-day immigrants who share their stories about their homelands, their travels to the United States, and their new lives in this country. The collection includes video-taped interviews and their transcriptions, as well as related memorabilia including photographs and immigration documents.
Cuban Photographs Collection
This collection of photographs from the University of Miami Libraries contains over 5,000 pieces pertaining to the history of Cuba and the Cuban Diaspora.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
This collaborative digital collection contains a broad variety of materials related to the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean, including maps, newspapers, and legal materials.
World Digital Library: Latin America and the Caribbean
The World Digital Library, a collaborative effort between the Library of Congress and UNESCO, hosts various primary source documents from all over the world.
Latino Rebels
Latino Rebels provides contemporary news and opinion pieces on Latino and Latin American politics and culture.
Council on Hemispheric Affairs
Founded in 1975, the Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA), a nonprofit, tax-exempt independent research and information organization, was established to promote the common interests of the hemisphere, raise the visibility of regional affairs and increase the importance of the inter-American relationship, as well as encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America. Includes news analyses, position papers, and more from an influential think tank.
Hispanic Reading Room (Library of Congress)
The Hispanic Reading Room is the Library of Congress's portal to various materials on the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain, and Portugal.
IUPLR: Inter-University Program in Latino Research
The mission of the IUPLR is to advance research by Latino scholars and about issues challenging Latino communities. It highlights current research and puts on events relevant to Latino topics.
Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA)
WOLA performs research and advocacy relating to justice and human rights in the Americas.
Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global nonprofit organization that advocates for human rights legislation and investigates transgressions thereof. Their website provides information about various causes, links to current research, and ways to volunteer.
United Nations Development Programme Human Development Reports
Human development refers to the various ways in which policy and culture can enrich or oppress the members of a society. This page from the United Nations provides access to annual reports, including extensive data, on a number of Human Development topics all across the world.
ReVista, David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies (Harvard)
ReVista is the triannual publication of Harvard's David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies. It is available in both English and Spanish.
Hunter College CUNY Centro Center for Puerto Rican Studies
Centro promotes events and research pertaining to the Puerto Rican experience in the United States.
CUNY Dominican Studies Institute
The Dominican Studies Institute at CUNY provides substantial research and access to digital collections relevant to Dominican topics.
Julian Samora Research Institute (Michigan State University)
The JSRI performs research into topics related to the Latino experience, hosts panels and other events, and works to support Latino communities in need. This link provides access to a substantial list of publications and other resources.
Smithsonian Museum Latino Center
The Latino Center at the Smithsonian Museum hosts events and galleries and provides resources related to Latino history and culture.
Cervantes Institute Library
The Cervantes Institute is an international network of education centers committed to Spanish language and culture. It hosts online and in-person events and classes in New York, and provides access to resources for learning the Spanish language and exploring Spanish culture.
Pew Hispanic Research Center
Data and statistics regarding Hispanic trends from the Pew Research Center.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas in Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. While many of our resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, our site has also become an important gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students, private and public sector professionals, and just about anyone looking for information about this important region.
Latin America Goverment Documents Archive
The Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and will continue with regularly scheduled captures.
Latin America Words
From the BBC World Service, you can read and listen to exclusive interviews with authors, academics and critics from across Latin America.
Political Database of the Americas
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region.

Ancestry

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the institutional version of Ancestry.com. Access the world's largest online collection of family records and resources, with billions of names from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration records and passenger lists, military histories and records, and more.
*Please note there are some instances where the images of primary source documents may not load correctly when accessing off campus.

Hundreds of thousands of documents are available for research on Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino/a topics. From the Ancestry homepage on the CCSU database website, go to Card Catalog under the search tab. Hundreds of thousands of documents are available here for family history but also for other types of research. For example, the entire 1930 manuscript census for Mexico is available, as are the manuscript censuses for Puerto Rico for 1910, 1920, 1930 and 1940. For Latino/Latina communities in the U.S. prior to 1940 there is extensive information, including on military service in World War I and World War II. Because of privacy laws, most documents date from 1940 or before.

National Security Archive

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.

For Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino/a studies, see especially the extensive documentation on U.S. intervention in Latin America since 1945, such as on Chile, Guatemala, and Colombia. The documentation is constantly being updated through Freedom of Information requests and suits.

Open Access Resources

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Free articles from the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History.