LibGuides: Literature Research Guide: Find Articles

Best Bets

Find Articles

Best Bet: MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Indexing dates back to 1926 and includes more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included

Find Articles

Best Bet: Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors,Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twayne's Author Sereis, and About the author. You may search each individually, or you may search all three databases with one search statement.

Find Articles

Best Bet: History Reference Center

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video

Try these Databases, too!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.
Scribner writers This link opens in a new window
Biographical information and essays about writers.
Twayne's authors series This link opens in a new window
Criticism on hundreds of years of literature--from Aristophanes to Bharati Mukherjee. Provides critical introductions to the lives and works of approximately 600 authors and introductions to the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.

Find Historical Newspaper Articles

Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America from 1639-1800. This collection is based on the bibliography originally compiled and edited by Charles Evans.
New York Times with Index (Historical 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2013
Chicago Tribune (Historical, 1849-1993) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1849 - 1993
Hartford Courant (Historical: 1764-1996) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1764 - 1996

Find Literature Journals

E-Journal Search
Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Here are examples of Literary Criticism Journals that you can find full-text online: Comparative Literature, Contemporary Literature, and Victorian Literature and Culture. Major authors often have journals dedicated to studies of their work, such as Shakespeare Quarterly or The Edgar Allen Poe Review.

Literature Research Guide

Contact the Reference & Instruction Dept.

Chat with Us!

Best Bets

Find Articles

Best Bet: MLA International Bibliography

Find Articles

Best Bet: Gale Literary Sources

Find Articles

Best Bet: History Reference Center

Try these Databases, too!

Find Historical Newspaper Articles

Find Literature Journals