LibGuides: History: HIST 395 Topics in History (Coronado): Find Articles

Databases vs. Journals

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
Anthrosource Journals This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
eHRAF World Cultures (formerly HRAF) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multi-disciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from nearly 1,700 scholarly journals in a variety of historical topics. These include social history, military and political history, economic history, Asian history, African history, Australian history, European history, North and South American history and more. Time periods range from the Paleolithic to the present. Full text is not directly available through this resource, but include links to full text articles sources like Project MUSE, JSTOR and more. Coverage is 1954 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Free articles from the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History.

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Indexing dates back to 1926 and includes more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.