LibGuides: Writing: WRT 110/105 Introduction to College Writing (Maresh): Find Info

CentralSearch Catalog

You can use the CentralSearch box below to conduct a search for materials in the physical and digital collection here at the Elihu Burritt Library.

Great for Background Info! (use for presearch, intros, author bios)

Credo Reference
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL provides reference titles in many subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology

Great for all Subjects

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

In addition to the above, other databases for Art Analysis

Art & architecture complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Please note* Only one user at a time is permitted
Music Index Online
The Music Index Online is the single most comprehensive guide to music periodical literature. The coverage spans from 1973 to the present and contains citations from over 850 music periodicals published in 40 countries.

Complete list of Library Subscription Databases (A-Z)

To filter by Subject, Database Type, or Vendor, click on View More Results.

Video: One Perfect Source? Think Again!

The Research Journey is not a straight One - there are many new starts and turns. And the process can seem a bit "messy" in that you may need to change up keywords and search strategies to find a variety of sources that you will synthesize into your writing.

This video "One Perfect Source?" explains more.

Video from North Carolina State University