LibGuides: History: HIST301 Family History (Mahony): Other Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Containing over 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field, The African American Studies Center includes full-text content from authoritative reference works published by Oxford University Press. The Center also contains digitized primary sources, maps, timelines and links to external websites.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the institutional version of Ancestry.com. Access the world's largest online collection of family records and resources, with billions of names from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration records and passenger lists, military histories and records, and more.
*Please note there are some instances where the images of primary source documents may not load correctly when accessing off campus.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts I and II This link opens in a new window
Explore LGBTQ history like never before. Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I provides access to over 1.5 million pages of primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. This database offers an expansive, detailed, global view on LGBTQ history—much of which was previously unavailable to the public.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress American Memory This link opens in a new window
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Veterans History Project This link opens in a new window
This collection contains oral histories of over 800 Connecticut veterans, including individuals who have served every American war from World War I to the conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan. Also contains photographs and documents related to the veterans’ histories.
Vogue archive This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, this archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it provides a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. The archive includes records from Planned Parenthood, the Women's Peace Party, the Women's Labor League, and more.
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window
The Scholar's Edition of Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 includes all content from the "basic" edition along with the addition an important new resource: The Women's Commission Reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.

Helpful Websites

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the institutional version of Ancestry.com. Access the world's largest online collection of family records and resources, with billions of names from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration records and passenger lists, military histories and records, and more.
*Please note there are some instances where the images of primary source documents may not load correctly when accessing off campus.

Congress.gov
Legislation; Congressional Record; Congressional Record Index; Members; Committees; Committee Reports; Nominations; Treaty Documents; House Communications; Senate Communications; Legislative Process
FEMA
FEMA mission statement - Helping people before, during, and after disasters.
govinfo.gov
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Govtrack.us
GovTrack.us began in 2004 as a project to use technology to make the U.S. Congress more open and accessible. Today we’re the leading non-governmental source of legislative information and statistics.
National Archives
National Centers for Environmental Information
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information
National Security Archive
National Weather Service
Include past weather/climate data
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
U.S. Census
U. S. Environmental Protection Agency