Skip to Main Content

Anthropology Research Guide

Use this research guide as your first stop in finding books, articles, websites, and more on the subject of Anthropology.

Best Bets: Anthropology Databases

Find Articles

Best Bet: Anthrosource and eHRAF World Cultures

Anthrosource Journals This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
eHRAF World Cultures (formerly HRAF) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. Please ask for help from a reference librarian as we don't have a video tutorial for this resource.

Try these databases, too! (Includes Multidisciplinary, Reference, and History)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the institutional version of Ancestry.com. Access the world's largest online collection of family records and resources, with billions of names from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration records and passenger lists, military histories and records, and more.
*Please note there are some instances where the images of primary source documents may not load correctly when accessing off campus.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
GVRL provides reference titles in many subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
JSTOR World Heritage sites (Africa) This link opens in a new window
World Heritage Sites: Africa is made up of 20 sub-collections and more than 57,000 objects. Selected sub-collections include the Heinz Ruther Collection from the University of Cape Town, the Kilwa Archive from the British Institute in Eastern Africa (BIEA), and the Smithsonian Heritage Collection.. Some content is restricted to Aluka subscribers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES contains searchable, full text articles from 56 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc.
Coverage is 1988 - present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

Find Anthropology Journals

E-Journal Search
Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Additional Video Tutorials for Finding Articles

Report a tech support issue

Elihu Burritt Library
Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06050 - Map

CCSU Home | Central Pipeline | CentralSearch / Catalog | Sign In to CentralSearch | Search Library Website