Anthropology Research Guide

This resource area is meant to be used as a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web

• North American Ethnographic Collection (1989 - 1995)
• Asian Ethnographic Collection (1996 - 1999)
• African Ethnographic Collection (1999 - 2003)
• Textile Collection, all proveniences (2003 - 2005)
With a combination of support from the private sector and the NEH, the Anthropology Division has also digitally imaged the Andean archaeological textile collection.
• Pacific Ethnographic Collection (2005 - 2007)
• Mexican/Central and South American Ethnographic Collections (2007 - 2009)
• Philippines Ethnographic Collection (2009 - 2010)

Dr. Jim Yong Kim, an internationally recognized physician and humanitarian and an accomplished educator and anthropologist, will become the 17th president of Dartmouth College (inauguration on September 22, 2009).

Muncie, Indiana is the subject of this American Radio Works program, and accompanying website. The site profiles several sad, sometimes hopeful, and all-too-familiar tales of how people have changed their dreams, or been forced to go a different direction with their lives, because of the economic downturn. In addition to being able to "download" the radio program, "listen" to it online, or "read" the transcript, visitors can look at the other multimedia sources that give context to these people'

Telling the history of the Union Pacific Railroad is a tall order, but this delightful site does the job quite effectively with historical photographs, maps, and thematic essays. The materials on the site are divided into sections that include "Union Pacific History and Chronologies", "Historical Equipment", "Photos", and "Reference". In the "History and Chronologies"

"Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association is the world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists. The Association is dedicated to advancing human understanding and applying this understanding to the world’s most pressing problems."

"Biological anthropology is a science that deals with the adaptations, variability, and evolution of human beings and their living and fossil relatives. Because it studies human biology in the context of human culture and behavior, biological anthropology is also a social science. The American Association of Biological Anthropologists, or AABA, is the world's leading professional organization for biological anthropologists."

"The National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA) is the student section of the American Anthropological Association. NASA was founded in 1985 to address graduate and undergraduate student concerns and to promote the interests and involvement of students as anthropologists-in-training."

"A network of national, regional and international associations promoting worldwide communication and cooperation in anthropology"

"The National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA) was founded as a section of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) in 1983 to represent practicing anthropology. "

"The SAA is an international organization that, since its founding in 1934, has been dedicated to research about and interpretation and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. With nearly 7,000 members, SAA represents professional and avocational archaeologists, archaeology students in colleges and universities, and archaeologists working at Tribal agencies, museums, government agencies, and the private sector."

"Formed in 1967, the Society for Historical Archaeology (SHA) is the largest scholarly group concerned with the archaeology of the modern world (A.D. 1400-present). The main focus of the society is the era since the beginning of European exploration. SHA promotes scholarly research and the dissemination of knowledge concerning historical archaeology."