Skip to main content
Elihu Burritt Library homepage
Research Help
In person | Chat | Email
Phone: (860) 832-2060

Citing Your Sources

This guide will help you cite your sources properly to avoid plagiarism in your writing. It also introduces various tools for creating and managing citations, including library-supported RefWorks.

Manage Projects

RefWorks provides researchers with several options for organizing data. Researchers can manage multiple projects from RefWorks and each project can have a number of folders to further subdivide and organize data.  All users of RefWorks start off with a single, default project called "Untitled Project".

See the other tabs in this box for information on how to:

  1. Rename a project
  2. Create a new project
  3. Switch between projects
  1. To change the name of the project, click the down arrow at the top of the screen next to the project name, and click Manage projects.
    Screenshot of RefWorks project selection drop-down menu

  2. Find the project you want to rename, and on the right-hand side of the screen open the Actions drop-down menu, and select Rename.
    Screenshot of the RefWorks project manager window

  3. Rename the project, and click Save.
    Screenshot of the rename project window in RefWorks
  1. To create a new project, click the down arrow at the top of the screen next to the project name, and click Manage projects.
    Screenshot of RefWorks project selection drop-down menu

  2. At the top of the screen, click the Create a new project button.
    Screenshot of RefWorks project manager page

  3. Name the new project, and click Save.
    Screenshot of the create a new project window

To switch between your different projects, click the down arrow at the top of the screen next to the name of the currently opened project, and select the project you wish to switch to from the drop-down menu.

Screenshot of the project selection drop-down menu in RefWorks

Loading ...

Create Folders

RefWorks has created step-by-step instructions on how to create and manage folders. The instructions below are a quick guide to assigning citations to a folder that already exists or to adding citations to a new folder, which you will create. Remember: each project has its own set of folders, so make sure you are creating your folders in the correct project.

  1. Click the checkbox next to the citation you want to organize.

  2. Click "assign to folder" at the top of the screen.
    Screenshot of RefWorks with "assign to folder" circled

  3. Here you will have the chance to assign the citation to an existing folder or to create a new folder.
    Screenshot of RefWorks with "create folder" circled

  4. Name the new folder, and click "create folder". The citation you selected will automatically be added to this new folder.
    Screenshot of new folder naming window

Share Folders

RefWorks allows you to share folders of references with other RefWorks users. Refworks has some detailed instructions on how to share folders and how to work with shared references, but we have provided some basic instructions below on how to share folders in RefWorks.

  1. If you have multiple projects, make sure you are viewing the project that holds the folder you wish to share.
    Screenshot of RefWorks with project selection menu circled

  2. Once you are viewing the correct project, there are two places you can look to find the share button. On the left-hand side column there is a Sharing menu. When you expand the sharing menu, you will see + share a folder. There may also be a share button on the toolbar alongside the top of the screen with the option to Share a folder. Either of these options will take you to the same place.

  3. Choose the folder you want to share.
    Screenshot of the sharing settings window with the "choose a folder" drop-down menu highlighted

  4. Add the e-mail addresses of the people with whom you want to share the folder. Separate each e-mail address with a semi-colon (;). Also, from the drop-down menu next to the e-mail addresses you have added, select the permissions these people will have with regards to this folder (can read, can annotate, can modify). Click Done.
    Screenshot of sharing settins window with option to invite people to share.

Import Citations

When you are conducting research in any of our library databases or the library catalog, you have the option to export the citation from the database or catalog and import it into your RefWorks account. Prior to attempting to import citations into RefWorks, you will want to make sure you are logged into your RefWorks account.

See the other tabs in this box for information on how to:

  1. Import a citation from an EBSCO database
  2. Import a citation from a ProQuest database
  3. Import a citation from the library catalog

Import Citations from an EBSCO databse:

 

  1. While inside the bibliographic record for the article you are viewing, click Export on the right-hand side toolbar:
    Screenshot of a bibliographic record in an EBSCO database with the export button circled

  2. Choose Direct Export to RefWorks, and click Save:
    Screenshot of the export manager window

  3. Choose to have the citation exported to the new RefWorks:
    Screenshot of window where you must choose old RefWorks or new RefWorks

  4. If you have more than one project in RefWorks, RefWorks will give you the option to choose which project to import your citation to:
    Screenshot of RefWorks window where you can choose which project to add your citation to

  5. When you see this window, your citation was imported successfully:
    Screenshot of the "import complete" window

Import Citations from a ProQuest Database:

 

  1. While inside the bibliographic record for the article you are viewing, click Save in the right-hand side box:
    Screenshot of a bibliographic record in a ProQuest Database

  2. Choose  to save to RefWorks from the drop-down menu:
    Screenshot of the drop-down menu of options to save

  3. In the export window, click Continue in the bottom right corner:
    Screenshot of the export/save window

  4. Choose to have the citation exported to the new RefWorks:
    Screenshot of window where you must choose old RefWorks or new RefWorks

  5. If you have more than one project in RefWorks, RefWorks will give you the option to choose which project to import your citation to:
    Screenshot of RefWorks window where you can choose which project to add your citation to

  6. When you see this window, your citation was imported successfully:
    Screenshot of the "import complete" window

Import Citations from the library catalog:

 

  1. When you are viewing the bibliographic record for a book or article in our library catalog, CentralSearch, click on the RefWorks button in the section called Send to:
    Screenshot of a bibliographic record in the library catalog with the RefWorks button circled

  2. Choose to have the citation exported to the new RefWorks:
    Screenshot of window where you must choose old RefWorks or new RefWorks

  3. If you have more than one project in RefWorks, RefWorks will give you the option to choose which project to import your citation to:
    Screenshot of RefWorks window where you can choose which project to add your citation to

  4. When you see this window, your citation was imported successfully:
    Screenshot of the "import complete" window
Loading ...

Manually Enter Citations

Importing references from the library databases or catalog is the easiest, quickest way to get them into RefWorks. However, there may be some occasions where you will need to input the citation manually. In those situations, use the steps below. When you add a citation manually, make sure you are in the folder where you want the citation to be added. If you are not using folders, make sure you are in the menu section for "All Documents".

  1. Click the "+" button in the top navigation. You will see 3 options in the resulting drop-down menu.
    image of RefWorks menu with add button circled

  2. If you have a PDF of the source, use "Upload document". RefWorks will attempt to pull the citation information from the PDF. If you have the citation information in another citation manager or in an RIS file, use "Import references".

  3. If you have neither of the above, use "Create new reference" to enter the citation information directly into RefWorks yourself. Click "Save" when you are done.
    Image of Refworks menu showing fields to add reference information manually

Edit Citations

Sometimes when citations are imported they come with errors or missing information. RefWorks imports the citation data directly from the databases or catalog, and if information was entered incorrectly or incompletely those inaccuracies will transfer to RefWorks. This is especially common when using the "Save to RefWorks" tool to get citation information from websites. In these cases, you will need to edit the citation so that it is formatted properly in any generated in-text citations or bibliographies. Use the steps below to edit a citation:

  1. Click on the title of the reference you want to edit.
    image of reference title

  2. Click the pencil icon.
    image of title with edit button circled

  3. Edit any mistakes or fill in missing information. Be sure to click "Save" when you're done.
    image edit menu with save circled

If you're not sure what information may be missing from a reference, you can switch to citation view. Any pieces of a reference that are missing will be noted based on the citation style you last used.

  1. Change to citation view using the menu option in the bottom right corner (change the citation style with the gear icon, if needed).
    image of refworks views with citation view circled

  2. Any highlighted areas are where there is possible missing information. If you have the information, or can find it in the database or catalog record, click the highlighted area to input the information. Keep in mind that not all references will have all of these pieces (some journals may not have multiple issues per volume, etc.) so not all of these areas may necessarily need to be updated or filled.
    image of citation view with missing elements circled

Generate In-Text Citations

RefWorks can generate in-text citations for your paper. These citations can be copy-and-pasted from RefWorks into the text file with your paper. This method works best with citation styles that use parentheses for in-text citations, such as MLA or APA. To generate in-text citations for styles that use numbered notes, try using RefWorks plugins for Microsoft Word or Google Docs. These can be used to generate in-text citations for a variety of citation styles. To get in-text parenthetical style citations in RefWorks, follow the steps below.

  1. Select the folder that contains the reference you want to generate an in-text citation for (or be in "All Documents").

  2. Click on Create Bibliography and select Quick cite.
    image of RefWorks menu with create bibliography and quick cite circled

  3. Choose your citation style using the drop-down menu (this method works best with MLA, APA, or other styles using parenthetical in-text citations).
    image of RefWorks menu to choose citation style

  4. Select the reference you want the in-text citation for (select only one at a time, unless you are using a style that allows you to cite multiple sources in a single parenthetical).
    image of RefWorks menu to choose citations

  5. Copy and paste the generated parenthetical in-text citation into the appropriate place in your paper. Change the page numbers as appropriate for the particular content you are citing.
    image of generated citation

Generate a Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of all the sources you used (i.e. cited) within your research paper. There are two ways to generate a bibliography in RefWorks. Both methods allow you to chose which references to include and which citation style to use. The generated bibliography can then be copy and pasted into a text file such as Microsoft Word.

Check out the other tabs in this box to learn how to create your bibliography.

Create a bibliography: Method 1

  1. If all the citations you want to add to the bibliography are located in a single folder, be sure to have that folder open, otherwise, have All Documents open.
    Screenshot of RefWorks main page with "All documents" circled and "My folders" pointed out

  2. Select the citations you want added to the bibliography, otherwise, click Create Bibliography on the toolbar at the top of the screen, and all the citations you see will be added to the bibliography.
    Screenshot of RefWorks main page with "Create Bibliography" on top toolbar circled

  3. From the Create Bibliography drop-down menu choose the first option, Create Bibliography.
    Screenshot of the create bibliography drop-down menu

  4. Here is your bibliography.
    Bibliography window in RefWorks

  5. Choose the appropriate citation style for your paper from the drop-down menu at the top of the screen, then click Copy to Clipboard, and paste this into your word document.
    Bibliography window in RefWorks with citation selection drop-down menu circled at the top of the screen

Create a bibliography: Method 2

  1. If all the citations you want to add to the bibliography are located in a single folder, be sure to have that folder open, otherwise, have All Documents open.
    Screenshot of RefWorks main page with "All documents" circled and "My folders" pointed out

  2. From the toolbar at the top of the screen click on Create Bibliography and choose Quick Cite from the drop-down menu.
    Create bibliography drop-down menu with quick cite circled

  3. Choose the appropriate citation style for your research paper, and click Continue.
    Quick Cite window step 1 choose a citation style

  4. Select the citations you want included in the bibliography, and click Continue to bibliography.
    Quick Cite window step 2 select the citations to be included

  5. Here is your bibliography. Click Copy to Clipboard, and paste this into your word document.
    Quick Cite window completed bibliography
Loading ...

RefWorks Plugins for Microsoft Word and Google Docs

What are RefWorks Plugins?

RefWorks plugins work right in Microsoft Word or Google docs to help you cite your sources as you write your paper. You can insert in-text citations or footnotes into your text and the tool will also dynamically update your bibliography as you go.

RefWorks has two plugins for Microsoft Word: RefWorks Citation Manager and Write-N-Cite. RefWorks Citation Manager is the newest version. A version is also available for Google Docs. The linked instructions will show you how to install and use these tools on your own personal computer (not available on university-owned public computers). Below is a quick overview of which program is available for which operating systems and versions of MS Word.

RefWorks Citation Manager: available on Microsoft Word versions 2016 and up (PC and Mac)

Write-N-Cite: PC: available on Microsoft Word versions 2007-2016, Mac: available on Microsoft Word versions 2008-2011

RefWorks add-on for Google Docs: available on PC or Mac

Video Tutorials

These tutorials were created by ExLibris (the creator of RefWorks). They provide a basic overview of the functions of RefWorks for those who prefer a video format. These videos may not cover all of the functionalities described above or may refer to processes not relevant to CCSU users.

Loading ...

Report a tech support issue

Elihu Burritt Library
(access via Harold Lewis Drive)
Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06050

CCSU Home | Central Pipeline | CentralSearch / Catalog | Sign In to CentralSearch | Search Library Website