It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can use the CentralSearch box below to conduct a search for materials in the physical and digital collection here at the Elihu Burritt Library.
Searching for Books/Media
One of the best places to look for books and media for assignments is in the library catalog. It will mainly let you know what we have in our physical collection, but it will also provide links to e-books and other e-resources. You do not look for articles here. You can perfrom the following searches:
Title when you know the title (name) of a book
Subject when you know the official Library of Congress Subject Heading
Journal Title when you're looking to see if the library subscribes to a print periodical (newspaper, magazine, or journal)
Author when you know the author of a book
Call Number when you want to browse the library's collection by call number
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
Do you know the difference between keyword and subject searching when looking forbooks and articles?
Use a Keyword search when:
You are not sure what you are looking for
You are using natural language
You can use several terms to describe your topic
You want to broaden your search.
Use a Subject search when:
You are looking for information about something, someone, or someplace (i.e. books about Toni Morrison, not books written by her)
You want to locate all relevant resources about your topic
You are looking for information that may be represented by a term that has many meanings or could occur in various contexts (e.g. “management”). Browse the "subject search results" list to find the Subheading that applies to your topic
You want to exclude results which are not about your topic (e.g. Depression, Mental vs.Depression -1929 United States)
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.
How to Search for Articles Using the Library's Website