LibGuides: International Studies Research Guide: Africa

Finding Materials in the Library

You will find most books about Africa on stack level 3.

Most books will be under the call numbers of DT

You can also search our catalog for topics related to Africa to find materials in our collection.

CentralSearch Catalog

You can use the CentralSearch box below to conduct a search for materials in the physical and digital collection here at the Elihu Burritt Library.

International Studies Africa Reference Sources

The Reference Department is located on the second floor of the library.

Africana by Anthony Appiah; Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT 14 A 37435
ISBN: 0195170555
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
The African Studies Companion by Hans M. Zell
Call Number: REF DT 19.8 Z45
ISBN: 0954102916
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Africa South of the Sahara 2006 by Routledge Staff (Created by)
Call Number: DT 351 A37
ISBN: 1857433130
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Encyclopedia of Africa by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT 3 E53
ISBN: 9780195337709
Publication Date: 2010-02-17
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT 20 E53
ISBN: 1579582451
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations by Diagram Staff; Keith Lye
Call Number: DT 14 E43
ISBN: 0816045682
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History by Paul Tiyambe Zeleza (Editor); Dickson Eyoh (Editor)
Call Number: DT29 E53
ISBN: 0415234794
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
Historical Dictionary of Algeria by Phillip Chiviges Naylor
Call Number: DT 283.7 N39
ISBN: 9780810853409
Publication Date: 2006-09-05
Historical Dictionary of Egypt by Arthur Goldschmidt; Robert Johnston
Call Number: DT75 G65
ISBN: 0810848562
Publication Date: 2003-10-22
Historical Dictionary of Libya by Ronald Bruce St John
Call Number: DT 223.3 S7
ISBN: 9780810853034
Publication Date: 2006-06-15
Historical Dictionary of Morocco by Thomas K. Park; Aomar Boum
Call Number: DT 313.7 P37
ISBN: 9780810853416
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
Historical Dictionary of Sierra Leone by C. Magbaily Fyle
Call Number: DT 516.5 F868
ISBN: 9780810853393
Publication Date: 2006-03-27
Historical Dictionary of United States-Africa Relations by Robert Waters
Call Number: DT 38 W385
ISBN: 9780810850637
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
Historical Dictionary of Western Sahara by Anthony G. Pazzanita
Call Number: DT 346 S7 P39
ISBN: 9780810855403
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton; Joseph Calder Miller
Call Number: Ref DT2 N48
ISBN: 9780684314556
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Contribution by)
Call Number: DT58 O94
ISBN: 0195138236
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

International Studies African Countries Information

Africa: Internet Links
Useful set of links relating to Africa from the British Library, Includes portals, languages, bibliographies, current affairs, official publications, and visual materials
Africa Focus
Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. It is hoped that the search features of the collection will be a convenient aid to scholarship, study, and teaching of these disciplines.
African Arguments
African Arguments Online is a multi-blogging site that covers both contemporary African events as they unfold, and develops debates on themes centrally important to an ever changing continent.
Africa Portal
The Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy related issues on Africa. A feature to to the Africa Portal is the online library collection holding over 3,000 books, journals, and digital documents related to African policy issues.
Africa Web Links: An Annotated Resource List
The African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania provides a collection of links relating to Africa, including both contemporary issues and recent history.