LibGuides: Counseling: CNSL 525 Multicultural Counseling Research Guide: Find Articles

Find Articles from the CCSU Databases!

Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Coverage: 1990-present.
more...less...
Off-Campus Access: CCSU students, faculty and staff only.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
SAGE Online Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Online Journals includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of nearly 300 scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage spans subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more. Full text articles are provided for over 700 e-journals (dates of coverage may vary).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Anthrosource Journals This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

Test and Measurement Databases

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a repository of full-text psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. A wide variety of test types are included in PsycTESTS, including achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and so on.
Mental measurements yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Coverage is from Volume 9 to the present. Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users
Health and psychosocial instruments This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a comprehensive database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Education Film Databases from the CCSU Library

Psychotherapy.net
A collection of 10 streaming videos in the field of psychotherapy. This collection allows the viewer the opportunity to view actual sessions, and to hear leading experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions is invaluable. Includes multiple videos directly concerned with multicultural counseling issues.

Relevant Online Journals

Counseling: Print Journals

Yes, we still do have some journals in print! Here are some that may be useful to you!

Print journals are located on the 4th floor, and are kept alphabetically by title.

The Counseling Psychologist by Beverly Hills, CA, etc. Sage Publications, etc.
ISSN: 0011-0000
Counseling today : a publication of the American Counseling Association by Alexandria, Va : The Association, 1994-
ISSN: 1078-8719
Journal of counseling and development : JCD by Alexandria, Va. : American Association for Counseling and Development, c1984-
ISSN: 0748-9633
Journal of Counseling Psychology by [Arlington, VA, etc.] American Psychological Association
ISSN: 0022-0167
Patient Education and Counseling by Princeton, N.J. : Excerpta Medica, c1983-
ISSN: 0738-3991
The Personnel and Guidance Journal by [Alexandria, Va., etc., American Association for Counseling and Development, etc.]
ISSN: 0031-5737