Find Articles - Databases (secondary sources) - History: HIST 395 Topics in History (Sunshine) - LibGuides at Central Connecticut State University

Useful Library Databases (Secondary Sources)

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from nearly 1,700 scholarly journals in a variety of historical topics. These include social history, military and political history, economic history, Asian history, African history, Australian history, European history, North and South American history and more. Time periods range from the Paleolithic to the present. Full text is not directly available through this resource, but include links to full text articles sources like Project MUSE, JSTOR and more. Coverage is 1954 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Dissertations and Theses Global (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The web version of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Collection Plus is the most comprehensive collection of databases from the Cochrane Library. The collection combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.