Association for the Study of Connecticut History Conference 2022 - Teaching History with Courage

Primarily includes objects (like clothing, furniture, weapons, needlework, tools, household objects) as well as photographs, painting, prints, drawings, and more.

Two separately linked collections to note for African American and immigrant history in CT: the Primus Family Papers, 1853-1924, and the Connecticut Cultural Heritage Arts Program collection

Primarily correspondence of Nelson A. Primus, a carriage painter in Hartford, Connecticut and later a portrait painter in Boston, Massachusetts, and of Rebecca Primus Thomas, a teacher sent by the Freedmen's Aid Society of Hartford to Maryland to help found a school for free blacks in the years following the Civil War. Also extensive letters written by Addie Brown, a servant in Waterbury, Farmington and Hartford, Connecticut, a close personal friend of Rebecca's. The letters contain political commentary, reports of prejudice, and often discuss the difficulty of earning a living as a free black person. There are in addition several compositions by Rebecca, and assorted letters to her father and mother. | Notes: See the book Beloved Sisters and Loving Friends, edited by Farah Jasmine Griffin, for an annotated version of the correspondence between Addie Brown and Rebecca Primus. | Preferred Citation: Primus Family Papers, 1853-1924, Ms 44012. Connecticut Historical Society, Hartford, Connecticut. | Extent: 1.0 linear foot (2 boxes). | Funding Information Note: Cataloging of this collection funded by NHPRC. Scanning of this collection funded by NEH through Capital Community College, 2021.

The fieldwork-based program is unique in Connecticut, employing original research in partnership with artists and communities to strengthen community-based resources. CCHAP documents tradition bearers across the state whose work would otherwise remain unknown or under-represented, collecting this material into a valuable archive of Connecticut traditions that is open to researchers and the public by appointment at the Connecticut Historical Society. CCHAP helps to express and enhance community cultural vitality through transforming research material (observations, recorded interviews, collection of artistic histories and music) into activities of interest to audiences. Commitment to authenticity of cultural representation and inclusion of members of the communities in research and program development are fundamental characteristics of CCHAP’s projects. A central program objective is to bring the excellence of traditional arts, which speak volumes about a community’s history and values, to greater public attention. CCHAP began in 1991, when the Institute for Community Research (ICR) established the state folk arts program with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts. After being supported by ICR for 24 years, CCHAP moved to the Connecticut Historical Society in 2015. Our funding partners have included NEA, the Connecticut Office of the Arts, the Greater Hartford Arts Council, Connecticut Humanities, the City of Hartford, the Lila Wallace-Readers Digest Community Folklife Program, the Edward C. and Ann T. Roberts Foundation, the Ensworth Charitable Foundation, the Knox Foundation, the Aurora Foundation for Women and Girls, and several other foundations and donors.

Useful for study of Women’s history;
African American history

Open access with links to some paywalled resources (subscription databases available to CCSU students & faculty or at the Elihu Burritt Library on public computers)

The vast amount of historical data collected is made available to veterans, students, scholars, and researchers via the internet at our website. All information is also preserved in the Library of Congress.

It includes collections such as the: Connecticut Polish American Archives; GLBTQ Archives; William A. O'Neill Gubernatorial Records & Oral History Interviews; John J. Woodcock Lemon Law Archives & Oral History interviews. Physical materials include: the Burritt Collection; Albert Payson Terhune, 1872-1942; Stereoscope slide collection; illustrated history of the Burritt Library from 1849-1999; Edgar Albert Guest 1881-1959; Arthur W. Bacon Surveys; Brian O'Connell Collection; Delta Pi Epsilon Papers; Index to the Papers of Dr. Herbert D. Welte, CCSU President 1929-1968; Index to Photos, New Britain Normal School; Index to Biographies, New Britain Normal School

Ancestry for libraries; EBSCOHost / high schools Explora EBSCO Experience; Academic Search Premier; History Reference Center; Biography Reference Bank; Referencia Latina; Proquest Historical Newspapers-Hartford Courant;

Browse those stories by town, topic, or person.
Connect to the real thing, the historic places and primary source images, documents, and objects that make up the historical record.

One of the main issues they discuss is the practice of hiring Spanish-speaking translators solely on the basis of the degrees they hold. Since most translators are not Puerto Rican themselves, it is difficult for them to translate court language and formal Spanish as spoken in Spain into the common spoken Spanish of Puerto Ricans living in cities such as Hartford, where many have only completed an eighth- grade education at best. The resulting miscommunication often leads to defendants’ misunderstanding their options; they may say that they are guilty because they do not know any better or cannot see alternatives. Because translators may not be from the community, they advise defendants in the easiest ways to move forward with the process instead of having the individual’s best interests at heart. Sanchez also explains that the educational requirements make it difficult for Puerto Ricans to work as translators. Many end up in manual jobs, such as working in the tobacco fields or washing dishes. More translators are needed as there are instances of their having to work on 25 cases in a day. Also, accusations have been made that translators request tips in exchange for doing more to support a case. Sanchez says that if this is true, there must be an investigation.

The first group of Puerto Rican farmworkers came to work in Connecticut’s tobacco fields as contracted laborers through Connecticut’s Shade Tobacco Growers’ Agricultural Association. In Connecticut, Puerto Ricans joined a workforce of over 20,000 that labored in the tobacco industry.

The project is a partnership with the Connecticut Historical Society and Central Connecticut State University. A companion digital timeline of Connecticut’s LGBTQ history is also available online at CHS Travelingexhibitions.

By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history… materials from anywhere in the world with a focus on materials created before the year 2000.

A gift of Philip D. Sang, the William Lloyd Garrison collection consists of lecture and editorial manuscripts, handwritten lecture notes and numerous letters from Garrison, his family and his many supporters (including numerous well-known 19th-century reformers). Written before, during and after the American Civil War, these papers illuminate Garrison’s tireless efforts to abolish slavery and inequality in the United States.

Although the economic center of slavery was in the South, northerners also held slaves, as did African Americans and Native Americans. Moreover, some southerners opposed slavery. Blacks were in the vanguard of the anti-slavery movement. Abolitionist literature began to appear about 1820. Until the Civil War, the anti-slavery press produced a steadily growing stream of newspapers, periodicals, sermons, children's publications, speeches, abolitionist society reports, broadsides, and memoirs of former slaves.

Increasingly in the 1840s and 1850s they reveal the struggles of people of color in the North, as fugitives from the South recorded the disparities between America's ideal of freedom and the reality of racism in the so-called "free states." After the Civil War, former slaves continued to record their experiences under slavery, partly to ensure that the newly-united nation did not forget what had threatened its existence, and partly to affirm the dedication of the ex-slave population to social and economic progress.

At the conclusion of the Slave Narrative project, a set of edited transcripts was assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. In 2000-2001, with major support from the Citigroup Foundation, the Library digitized the narratives from the microfilm edition and scanned from the originals 500 photographs, including more than 200 that had never been microfilmed or made publicly available. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs divisions of the Library of Congress.

The collection contains their personal and professional papers, photographs by Lahusen created in the course of forty-five years of gay rights activism, and the extensive collection of materials they gathered and preserved to document the movement. The collection also includes Gittings’ extensive correspondence with fellow activists, most notably Frank Kameny, records of her editorial work on The Ladder, interviews conducted for Lahusen’s book, The Gay Crusaders, and organizational files from their work in such organizations as the Daughters of Bilitis and several other early homophile groups; the Gay Task Force of the American Library Association; the Gay Activists Alliance; and the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force.

In this episode, she discusses her most dramatic ACT UP arrest, her work as an AIDS education advocate, her blue-blooded upbringing, and the lure of Angie Dickinson.

In 1760, some fifteen hundred enslaved black men and women— perhaps fewer but probably many more— took advantage of Britain’s Seven Year’s War against France and Spain, to stage a massive uprising in Jamaica, which began on April 7… Over the course of eighteen months the rebels killed as many as sixty whites and destroyed many thousands of pounds worth of property….
Mapping the revolt and its suppression illustrates something that is difficult to glean from simply reading the textual sources…

Archived on Wayback Machine, domain and website no longer appear to be live. Dunn wrote a book called A Tale of Two Plantations (probably based on this site).

The Project provides archival research, professional teacher development, a classroom curriculum, and public programming to help students discover and chronicle the local history of slavery. The final component of the work in each community is the placement of Witness Stone Memorials™: permanent landscape markers that honor enslaved individuals where they lived, worked, or worshiped.