LibGuides: Business: BUS 598-HY Special Topics in Business: Finding Articles and Reports

Resources for finding scholarly or trade articles or reports

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides access to an online library of profiles on over 900 industry segments as well as state and regional profiles. The industry profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecasts. Note* you must click continue on the opening page, and then twice more to access the database*
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 182 million pages and 281,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse a digital archive of Dunn & Bradstreet's Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios from 1979 through 2010 by year and/or industry group.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios (KBR) provides online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Also provides residential directory information searchable by person, business, phone number and neighboring listings. In addition, the Job Search function connects occupations to potential employers in the U.S., Mexico, and Canada while the Demographics search provides Nielsen demographic and PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level.
New York Stock Exchange This link opens in a new window
The main web site of the New York Stock Exchange. Provides links to information about the exchange and listed companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As the first draft of history, American newspapers have preserved essential records and detailed accounts of the people, issues and events that shaped the nation for hundreds of years. In the 1800s, American newspapers were often published by small-town printers and reflected the interests and values of the communities they served. But as the country grew and changed, so too did its newspapers. In the 19th century, the number of titles published rose dramatically, and newspapers were transformed by an increasing emphasis on society, industry, scientific advances, investigative journalism and human-interest stories. By the early 20th century, nearly every town in the United States had its own newspaper.
Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1872 - 1991
Hartford Courant (1992-Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Hartford Courant (1992-present). To search both current and historical Hartford Courant use this link: HARTFORD COURANT--all dates
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times from 1980 to the present time.
New York Times with Index (Historical 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2013
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present time.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Business: BUS 598-HY Special Topics in Business

Resources for finding scholarly or trade articles or reports

Newspaper Databases

ABI/Inform

Business Source Premier

First Research