LibGuides: Theatre Research Guide: Find Articles

Find Articles

Best Bets:

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text (PDF) content amalgamated from ten of Gale's top literary criticism series, including 19th Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism and Drama Criticism. Complete backfile, beginning with Vol. 1, available for all titles in the series.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Indexing dates back to 1926 and includes more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included

Best Bets:

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Source offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors,Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twayne's Author Sereis, and About the author. You may search each individually, or you may search all three databases with one search statement.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video

Best Bets:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
SEARCH TIP: You can select 'Choose Databases' and also check off History Reference Center, America: History and Life, Biography Reference Center, Communication and Mass Media Complete, History Reference Center and Newspaper Source Plus to search across all these databases at the same time!
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Containing over 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field, The African American Studies Center includes full-text content from authoritative reference works published by Oxford University Press. The Center also contains digitized primary sources, maps, timelines and links to external websites.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As the first draft of history, American newspapers have preserved essential records and detailed accounts of the people, issues and events that shaped the nation for hundreds of years. In the 1800s, American newspapers were often published by small-town printers and reflected the interests and values of the communities they served. But as the country grew and changed, so too did its newspapers. In the 19th century, the number of titles published rose dramatically, and newspapers were transformed by an increasing emphasis on society, industry, scientific advances, investigative journalism and human-interest stories. By the early 20th century, nearly every town in the United States had its own newspaper.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1872 - 1991
Chicago Tribune (Historical, 1849-1993) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1849 - 1993
Hartford Courant (Historical: 1764-1996) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1764 - 1996
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times with Index (Historical 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2013

Other Possibilities

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SAGE Online Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Online Journals includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of nearly 300 scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage spans subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more. Full text articles are provided for over 700 e-journals (dates of coverage may vary).

Find Theatre Journals

E-Journal Search
Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Here are examples of Theatre Journals that you can find full-text online: Theatre Journal, Theatre Research International, Theatre Survey, Comparative Drama, and The Journal of American Drama and Theatre.

Theatre Research Guide

Contact the Reference & Instruction Dept.

Chat with Us!

Find Articles

Best Bets:

Best Bets:

Best Bets:

Other Possibilities

Find Theatre Journals