Criminal Justice Research Guide

BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice.

Research to improve children's lives

Statistics compiled by the CT State Police Crime Analysis Unit (PDF format). The reports include a statewide summary as well as statistics on individual counties, cities and towns.

Data Trends are produced to increase the dissemination of current research findings in the area of children's mental health services.

Public opinion surveys on a variety of topics including those related to societal issues.

IRP researches the causes and consequences of poverty and inequality in the United States.

NCCP conducts research and translates the findings into actionable recommendations that advocates and policymakers use to improve the lives and futures of low-income children and their families.

Statistics on the developments, trends, and issues within the U.S. educational system.

The BJS National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 240,000 persons in about 150,000 households.

A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, and other empirical social science research.

Provides articles, datasheets, and reports on a number of topics including: Environment, HiV/AIDS, Population Trends, Reproductive Health, Marriage/Family, Education, Family Planning, Fertility, Health, Race/Ethnicity, Poverty, Migration, Youth, Aging, Mortality, and Gender

Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 500 health topics and is linked to both the Kaiser Family Foundation website (www.kff.org) and KaiserNetwork.org (www.kaisernetwork.org).

Data from U.S. population and economic censuses.

The Department of Justice provides the public with a variety of resources - from publications, reports, and frequently requested forms to case highlights, legal briefs, opinions and judicial orders.

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930.

The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

The Scholar's Edition of Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 includes all content from the "basic" edition along with the addition an important new resource: The Women's Commission Reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.

Created in 1976 as a public/private partnership of the United Way and the State of Connecticut, Info line is an information and referral service for a variety of problems facing Connecticut Residents. It is also a resource for people who would like to find volunteer opportunities. a comprehensive database of human service resources that is continuously updated