LibGuides: African-American Studies: AFAM 110 Introduction to African-American Studies: Find Articles

Best Bet: African American Studies Center

Find Articles

Best Bets:

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Containing over 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field, The African American Studies Center includes full-text content from authoritative reference works published by Oxford University Press. The Center also contains digitized primary sources, maps, timelines and links to external websites.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
This website presents primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom. It contains 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:

Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond the Windy City, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military. This newspaper also supported the aviation career of Bessie Coleman, the first African-American female pilot, and promoted the writing of Langston Hughes and Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks.
Coverage is from 1910-1975.
Frederick Douglass Newspapers, 1847-1874 This link opens in a new window
This online collection presents newspapers edited by Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), the African American abolitionist who escaped slavery and became one of the most famous orators, authors, and journalists of the 19th century.
Douglass believed in the importance of the black press and in his leadership role within it, despite the struggles of earlier black newspaper enterprises.
JSTOR World Heritage sites (Africa) This link opens in a new window
World Heritage Sites: Africa is made up of 20 sub-collections and more than 57,000 objects. Selected sub-collections include the Heinz Ruther Collection from the University of Cape Town, the Kilwa Archive from the British Institute in Eastern Africa (BIEA), and the Smithsonian Heritage Collection.. Some content is restricted to Aluka subscribers.

Try these Databases, too!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields. It includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text articles from over 350 journals.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Education Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Includes full text of articles cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes 87 journals not covered by ERIC's CIJE.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Access to many full-text ERIC documents has been temporarily restricted due to privacy concerns.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Find Social Work Journals

E-Journal Search
Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Here are examples of African American Studies Journals that you can find full-text online: African American Review, Journal of African American Men : A Publication of the National Council of African American Men, Journal of African American History, Journal of African American Studies, African-American Law & Policy Report, Black American Literature Forum, The Journal of Negro History, and many, many more! Please see the tutorials on this guide page for help with finding eJournals at the Elihu Burritt Library.

African-American Studies: AFAM 110 Introduction to African-American Studies

Contact the Reference & Instruction Dept.

Chat with Us!

Best Bet: African American Studies Center

Find Articles

Best Bets:

Try these Databases, too!

Find Social Work Journals

Finding Electronic Journals in the Library Databases Using E-Journal Finder/Locator