State and City Information and Statistics

Links from USA.gov to State, Local, and Tribal government websites and contact information.

From the State of Connecticut. Datasets on government, business, education, environment & natural resources, health & human services, housing & development, public safety, transportation, local government, maps & geospacial, tax & revenue, and other topics in Connecticut.

Provides data and data visualizations for CT on various topics like business, families, civic engagement, criminal justice, demographics, education, health, and housing. Provides information at town level and data literacy training to help people understand and use data.

Public data available from Google. Can be used to create charts and graphs of selected data points within a web browser.

Data on various topics for the City of Hartford.

A computational search engine (or "answer engine") from Wolfram Research. Type a question on any topic into the search box to get results (new britain ct crime rate, massachusetts income, connecticut stats, etc.). Useful for informal or personal research.

From the US Census Bureau. Search for community statistics by state, county, city, town, or zip code. Includes statistics on population, age, business, education, government, housing, income, origin & language, poverty, race, and veterans.

Official US government website. The United States Census Bureau collects and publishes data related to America's people, places, and economy. Contains multiple tools and reports for exploring data on the national, state, county, and city level (many linked separately below).

From the US Census Bureau. A searchable (with filters) list of all of their various publications by year and topic.

From the US Census Bureau. Provides statistics about people (population demographics, households, computer use, education, health, economy, income, etc.), businesses, and geography for all states and counties in the U.S. and for individual cities and towns (only those with a population of 5,000 or more). Can create interactive tables, maps, and charts for datasets and compare states against each other or the nation as a whole as well.

From the Connecticut Economic Resource Center. Includes 2-page demographic and economic reports for every municipality in Connecticut.

DataUSA provides a vast amount of national data across a broad variety of fields, including demographic numbers, industry profiles, and statistics of political interest. Data is collated from various reputable nonprofit and government sources, and each chart and graph is cited for transparency. This site also provides more specific data from the US Census than is easily available using the tools available on the Census's own webpage.

From the US Census Bureau. Data from the official U.S. census that is conducted every ten years. Also includes briefs, special reports, and summary information regarding the census. Goes back to 1790 (earlier years may have less data available).

From the US Census Bureau. Statistics from the American Community Survey about people, jobs, housing, economy, and education specific to the American Indian and Alaska Native populations. Searchable by name of tribal area or by state.

From the US Census Bureau. A live clock calculating population statistics both in the U.S. and globally. Has statistics for the highest density and most populated U.S. states, counties, and cities. Also includes basic statistics about the populations of various countries around the world.

From the Connecticut Department of Public Safety. Access Connecticut specific crime, family violence, and bias crime reports organized by year.

An online interactive data tool from the FBI. Updated regularly. Browse Crime, Police Employment, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted data by state.

Publications from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting Program. Includes reports from Crime in the United States, the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA), Hate Crime Statistics, and various other topical crime reports.

Official US government website. NCES collects and analyzes data related to education in the U.S. and internationally. Part of the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. Contains multiple tools and reports on state and local education statistics (many linked separately below).

From NCES. Find general, fiscal, and dropout/completer statistics by state or district under "CCD Data Files."

From NCES. Contains most current data tables for a wide breadth of information at the national-level and state-level. Navigate by chapter headings and sub-headings.

From NCES. Search for schools by state, city, zip code or name. Filter by school type (public schools, private schools, colleges). View school and district characteristics and demographics information.

From NCES. Presents data by state for elementary and secondary education reform efforts in the areas of accountability, assessment and standards, staff qualifications and development, state support for school choice and other options, and student readiness and progress through school.

From the National Assessment of Educational Progress, overseen by NCES. Find assessment statistics for mathematics, reading, science and writing by grade level, state and district. Also contains detailed state and district profiles and ability to compare demographics by state.

Website of the GreatSchools non-profit organization. Provides information like ratings, reviews, student outcomes and overall quality of education for individual schools and school systems across the country by city name, zip code or school name.

Use the "Regional Homepages" to find statistics by state. Includes statistics on employment, jobs, inflation, pay & benefits, etc.

Created by MIT. Calculates cost of living by state (with breakdowns by county or metro area). Includes data for multiple household types (1 or 2 adults, 1 or more children, etc.). Also includes typical average costs of various common expenses and typical annual salaries for common professions by state/county.

From NerdWallet.com. Compares cost of living between different US metro/urban areas and compares prices for housing, transportation, food, entertainment & healthcare. Just like the above calculator, for best results search by state (not city) and select the urban area closest to the cities you are searching for.

From Bankrate.com. Compares cost of living between different US metro/urban areas and compares prices for housing (including electricity), food & lifestyle. For best results, search by state (not city) and select the urban area closest to the cities you are searching for.

From ADT.com. Compares the cost of common expenses (housing, gas, groceries, etc.) in various cities across the U.S. in relation to the national average. Includes a comparison tool and provides references.

Map by the U.S. Geological Survey. Zoom in on states and smaller local areas to measure distances between points, calculate local elevations, or view topographic, street, hydro, terrain, or satellite imagery maps.

State energy profiles from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Includes information on types of energy produced in the state, as well as locations of coal mines, power plants, pipelines, and refineries. Also includes state rankings for energy consumption, expenditure, production, prices and environment.

From the CDC. Browse various health and wellness categories with Data & Stats by Topic (not all topics have state-level data available).

From the CDC. FastStats page for births, fertility rate, deaths and death rate listed by U.S. state or territory.

From the National Center for Health Statistics and the CDC. Contains various birth, death, disease, heath insurance, and marriage & divorce statistics by state.

A report by the National Safety Council. Explore data by state about programs in place and developing programs to prevent injuries and deaths. State-level statistics regarding numbers of preventable injuries and deaths coming soon here: https://injuryfacts.nsc.org/state-data/.