Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Elihu Burritt Library homepage
Research Help
In person | Chat | Email
Phone: (860) 832-2060

Citation Analysis for Promotion & Tenure

Borrowed from colleague and librarian Sheila Lafferty at the UConn Library, Storrs, CT

Analyzing Journals Using JCR, Scopus, SJR and Google Scholar Metrics

Analyzing Journals Using Scopus:

  1. Go to Scopus and click on Sources on top menu.

    scopus sources
     
  2. Enter the journal title that you want to analyze. You can also search by ISSN and publisher. If you wish, you can also use Browse Sources to search for journals by subject area.
  3. Click the Search button to retrieve a list of journal titles.
  4. Select the title of the journal you want to analyze by clicking on it. Add more titles if you want to compare journals. You can add up to ten journals.

 

The Total Citations chart shows the number of times documents from the journal were cited in other documents during a specific year. Place your cursor on a data point on the Total Citations chart for an explanation of the information displayed.

The Articles Published chart shows the number of documents published in the journal during a specific year. Place your cursor on a data point on the Articles Published chart for an explanation of the information displayed.

The Trend Line chart shows the number of citations a journal has received in a year divided by the number of articles published in the same year. Place your cursor on a data point on the Trend Line chart for an explanation of the information displayed.

The % Not Cited chart shows the percentage of the articles in a journal that have not been cited in other articles. Place your cursor on a data point on the % Not Cited chart for an explanation of the information displayed.

To look at this information in a table format, click the Data View button. The titles of the journals which appear in the chart are listed in the key below the chart. Click the Show info link to display the journal publication information.

scimajojr logo


SCIMago Journal  & Country Rank is a database that provides a measure of the scientific prestige of scholarly sources: value of weighted citations per document and is inspired by Google's Page Rank algorithm. It is a free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database since 1996.

The SCImago site has a number of indicators, including SciMago Journal Rank (SJR) , h-Index, Total Documents, Total Documents (3 years), Total References, Total Cites (3 years), Citable Documents (3 years), Cites per document (2 years) and Reference per Document. Journals may be ranked by major subject areas, more specific subject categories, SJR, h-index, etc. 

 

sicmagojr sample search

 

 

Google Scholar Metrics provides information about  journal rankings and ratings by various metrics.  Browse the top 100 publication titles in 9 different languages, or search by broad subject research areas and numerous subcategories. Scholar Metrics uses those articles published between 2011 and 2015 and citation from all articles indexed in Google Scholar. 

 

Google Scholar Metrics

Coverage of Publications (as of Nov 2016 from Google Scholar)

Scholar Metrics currently cover articles published between 2011 and 2015, both inclusive. The metrics are based on citations from all articles that were indexed in Google Scholar in June 2016. This also includes citations from articles that are not themselves covered by Scholar Metrics.

Since Google Scholar indexes articles from a large number of websites, we can't always tell in which journal a particular article has been published. To avoid misidentification of publications, we have included only the following items:

  • journal articles from websites that follow our inclusion guidelines;
  • selected conference articles in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering;
  • preprints from arXiv and NBER. For arXiv preprints, we compute metrics for individual collections, e.g., "arXiv Superconductivity (cond-mat.supr-con)".

Furthermore, we have specifically excluded the following items:

  • court opinions, patents, books, and dissertations;
  • publications with fewer than 100 articles published between 2011 and 2015;
  • publications that received no citations to articles published between 2011 and 2015.

Overall, Scholar Metrics cover a substantial fraction of scholarly articles published in the last five years. However, they don't currently cover a large number of articles from smaller publications.

Report a tech support issue

Elihu Burritt Library
(access via Harold Lewis Drive)
Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06050

CCSU Home | Central Pipeline | CentralSearch / Catalog | Sign In to CentralSearch | Search Library Website