It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this guide, you will find a few articles about the exhibit opening and some books on the artist. This is meant as a starting place for your research. You will find more by searching Central Search, the Hartford Courant newspaper database (see the "Newspaper Databases" tab of this guide), and other library databases. You might also try to gather information from other places online, but don't forget to evaluate their content (see the "Evaluating Internet Sources" tab).
As always, if you need any help with your research, don't hesitate to contact a librarian! There's a chat widget in this guide that is active whenever the Library is open and will connect you to one of us directly!
Who was Sol LeWitt?
Solomon "Sol" LeWitt was an American artist and native of Connecticut.
His art career took off in the 1960s and he played a leading role in introducing art to the Coneceptual movement, which led to the transition from the modern to the postmodern era.
LeWitt's work ranged from sculptures, to paintings, and even drawings, many of which are wall drawings or murals.
Several pieces of his art work can be found in the library.
You can find out more about the artist by searching the library's reference databases such as Biography Reference Center and Credo Reference.
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.