LibGuides: Writing: WRT 110 &amp; 105/110 Introduction to College Writing: Find Info

CentralSearch Catalog

You can use the CentralSearch box below to conduct a search for materials in the physical and digital collection here at the Elihu Burritt Library.

Great for Background Info! (use for presearch, intros)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
GVRL provides reference titles in many subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology

Great Library Databases for all Subjects

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
Issues and controversies This link opens in a new window
To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times from 1980 to the present time.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.
Hartford Courant (1992-Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Hartford Courant (1992-present). To search both current and historical Hartford Courant use this link: HARTFORD COURANT--all dates

CCSU Library Databases - More to Choose from

Access a complete list of databases here.

Google Scholar: Off-Campus Access to Scholarly Resources

Google Scholar is a subset of Google allowing users to search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

What you find may be available in one or more ways:

1. Freely available on the web (i.e, open access). Click on the link for the article,

2. Available for a fee behind a "paywall". Request the article through Interlibrary Loan,

3. Freely available through one of CCSU's research databases. Look for (click on) the 'Find a Copy @ CCSU' link. ***

*** If you are off-campus, you will need to configure your device to see the 'Find a Copy' link. Here's how:

Go to scholar.google.com
Click on the in the upper left hand corner and choose 'Settings'.

Choose 'Library Links' and search for 'Central Connecticut State University'. Choose each occurence and 'Save'.

Your Turn to Practice

Direct link to Your Turn to Practice