LibGuides: Marketing: MKT 306 Advertising and Promotion (Cistulli): Ad/Media Rates, Expenditures, and Reports

Resources

WebFX: How much does social media advertising cost?
This is a commercial site, so they are trying to sell you on their services. However, there is also a lot of good information about the costs of advertising on various social media platforms. Scroll down to see what the costs are for Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, YouTube and Pinteres
Hootsuite: Social Media Advertising 101
This guide explains how to use the various types of social media ads to achieve business results while maximizing ad spend. This means really understanding who your target audience is, and knowing which social media tools to use to reach them
Facebook Ad Benchmarks for YOUR Industry [2019]
Ad performance on Facebook by industry including:
-Average click-through rate (CTR)
-Average cost per click (CPC)
-Average conversion rate (CVR)
-Average cost per action (CPA)

DIGITAL/MEDIA

Online advertising is significantly more dynamic than than traditional advertising. Online advertising allows for greater precision in message and more targeted reach. Most businesses structure and pay for online ads in one of two ways: pay-per-click advertising or fixed rate advertising.

Pay-per-click (PPC) is paying for an ad based solely on the amount of clicks it gets. A business can post multiple versions of the same ad and quickly see which gets the most clicks and make changes as needed. This is effective for those with a strict budget, as spending limits can be preset.
Fixed Rate is when businesses pay a set price for ads up front, and is used often on content-focused sites where the target audience is likely already there.
In both cases, the ‘click’ goes to the business’s homepage or a content-specific landing page.

Many business also choose to use an online Advertising Network, which is a company that connects businesses to demographically targeted collections of online or mobile sites.

30 second Television Ad Rate Costs
This page provide a few examples of ad costs from Adage.com

For TV and radio, ad rates are not so easy to come by. Because there are simply too many variables, broadcast ad rates are always negotiated. Here are some of the variables:

Time of day (daypart)
Length of spot
Number of repetitions

Size of the expected viewing/listening audience
Local vs. national audience
How close to airing time the purchase is negotiated

Estimating broadcast ad rates:

To get an idea of the likely range for broadcast media ad rates, a rough calculation you can use is this:

Estimated ad rate = cost-per-rating-point X audience measurement rating

For TV, the audience measurement rating is the Nielsen rating; for radio, it's the Arbitron rating. So that presents you with two new quests: finding the CPP (cost-per-rating-point), and finding the audience measurement rating.

2020 REDBOOKS Advertisers and Agencies. Winmo.com ( *Print version only. Ref HF 5805 A229 - second floor Burritt Library)

Covers companies that spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each entry contains information on company contacts, products, advertising expenditures, key personnel, and advertising agency.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and indexes over 4,300 titles, including many titles that deal with marketing and advertising. Searching the company of interest and the phrase "advertising spending" may find articles dealing with the company's ad expenditures.

Print Media Rates:

Finding ad rates for print magazines and newspapers is relatively easy for many publications. Many magazines and newspapers will post their advertising rates, known as rate cards, on their websites. To find this information on the web simply search the words "media kit" or "advertising rates" with the name of the publication. These rates are a starting point, but there is usually some negotiating done in real life

Print advertising rates are generally determined by size, placement and color. Below is a good overview of how to read a typical rate card.

2020 Print Advertising Rate Examples
Examples from print fashion magazines

Understanding Rate Cards
From The Balance

2020 REDBOOKS Advertisers and Agencies. Winmo.com ( *Print version only. Ref HF 5805 A229 - second floor Burritt Library)

Covers companies that spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each entry contains information on company contacts, products, advertising expenditures, key personnel, and advertising agency.

AdForums's Agnecy directory
Free access to AdForum's directory of basic agency profiles. There is an option to join for more.

Robert S. Lazich (Ed.). 2021. Market Share Reporter AnAnnual Compilation of Reported Market Share Data on Companies, Products and Services..Gale. Print Burritt Library second floor Ref HF 5415 M38 2021

Data On Small Business
The Office of Advocacy disseminates small business economic data and statistics to highlight their economic contributions and importance to policymakers
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Economic Census
The economic census serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses, including the Island Areas, and their economic impact.
Business Valuation Resources
ValuationResources.Com is a free online guide to business valuation resources, industry information, economic data, and more. Designed as a resource guide for business appraisers, the site's audience encompasses a broad mix of business owners, professionals, educators, students, and other parties interested in business valuation and industry information.