LibGuides: First-Year Experience Research Guide: Find

Important note

On this page you will find two boxes - one for tutorials and short quizzes related to finding resources and another for important resources. Within one of the boxes are tabbed pages (think tabbed dividers within a notebook!). Be sure to click on each tab to review all the information you need.

Learning Objectives for FIND

Use/Utilize the library’s website to find information sources and/or ask for help.

Find e-books and/or print books in the library’s collection using the CentralSearch catalog.

Find magazine, newspaper or scholarly journal articles using the library’s subscription databases (i. e. Academic Search Premier).

FIND - Tutorials

The tutorials below give you an overview of where you can find information at the library and online. There are seven short videos you can watch. Click the square lined icon in the top right of the video screen below to see the each video.

Where to find Information Tutorials ( Approx.1-3 minutes each) Click on lined square in top right corner.

Places You Can Go 1:41
The Open Web 3:11
The Physical Library 2:23
Tell Me More: The Digital Library 1:00
Search The Open Web 2:02
Searching Your Library Resources 2:28

Find Information Quiz https://ccsu.libwizard.com/id/ad0c122ad8c8aa4330da593cbc61116e

FIND - Resources

The Library's home page is found at library.ccsu.edu. This is the place to start!

The Library databases provide background information on a variety of topics. (Find out more about Library databases on the 'Find Articles' tab.) This is a partial list of databases that are great for providing topic ideas for your research assignments. If you have question or need help, ask a Librarian!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Start here to get background information on a broad topic you are unfamiliar with. Most of the information comes from encyclopedias and dictionaries. Pleas ask a librarian if you need more help.
Issues and controversies This link opens in a new window
Search here for Pro/Con information. Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture.
CQ Press Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search here for topic ideas dealing with current events, government, politics, history , public policy. Choose Browse Reports or Browse Topic toward the top of site
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search here for American newspaper articles on current events as well as archives that go back to the 1980s.

Developing Keywords Handout

Use the Library's Central Search catalog to find print and online books. This tutorial shows you how.

Use the Library databases to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers...and more!

You can find a complete database listing on the A-Z Databases page by clicking on the 'Databases' tab from the Library's homepage. Filter the listing by Subject (All Subjects) (such as Psychology) or Type of Database (All Database Types) (such as Primary Source or Reference) by pulling down those menus.

Here are tutorials on how to find articles using two database examples. Academic Search Premier has scholarly journal articles as well as magazine articles. US Newsstand features newspaper articles from across the United States.

There are many other research guides similar to this one covering certain subjects such as Psychology or Business, specific to a class you are attending or telling you about a library service such as Interlibrary loan. On the top bar of the Library's homepage, choose 'Research', then 'Reseach Guides' to bring you the Libguides page. Use the drop down guide menus (click on course guide, general purpose, subject guide, or topic guide) to see what is available.

First-Year Experience Research Guide

Contact the Reference & Instruction Dept.

Chat with Us!