LibGuides: Humanities, International Studies: HUM 230/IS 230 Topics in International Studies: Database Articles

History and Biography Databases

While you are encouraged to explore many of the subject databases to find information about either book (Christ in Concrete or Son of Italy) or author (di Donato or D'Angelo), you might want to start with the History and Biography subject databases. To find subject specific databases, click on the "Databases" tab on the library home page, then click on the arrow in the subject box and scroll down to find History, biography, anthropology or literature.

Below are some basic databases where you might begin your search:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Anthrosource Journals This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Source offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.