LibGuides: Writing: WRT 202 Intermediate Composition: Find Info

CentralSearch Catalog

You can use the CentralSearch box below to conduct a search for materials in the physical and digital collection here at the Elihu Burritt Library.

Issues and controversies
To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Credo Reference
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL provides reference titles in many subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

Everyone tells you that doing research well takes a good chunk of time – but I promise you that doing research poorly takes even longer!

Want to make good use of your research time?

Don’t read every article with a title that sounds like it might be relevant to you.

(You read that correctly. I said don’t.)

Instead, evaluate every step of the way to see if what you're looking at is something you might use. Let's say you've done a search...

And then, after you click...