LibGuides: Government Documents and Information: Find Congressional Documents and Information

Find Congressional Documents

American Memory: A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (Library of Congress)
Contains documents related to Congressional proceedings from the Continental Congress in 1774 to the 44th Congress in 1875.

Avalon Project at Yale Law School This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from the pre-18th through 21st centuries.
CQ Press Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text contents of CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, and over two dozen reference titles, such as the Historic Documents series, Supreme Court A to Z, Guide to Congress, Guide to U.S. Elections, Politics in America and many more! The CQ Press Electronic Library is useful for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

CRS Reports
Congressional Research Service Reports that are already in the public domain .

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.

GovInfo
This free, public database provides access to documents from across the three branches of Federal Government.

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 182 million pages and 281,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

GovTrack
This site publishes the status of federal legislation, information about your representative and senators in Congress including voting records, and original research on legislation.