This guide provides information for anyone making a request for digitization of materials in the Elihu Burritt Library's Archives and Special Collections. Digital copies of materials may be produced for individual education and research or, in some circumstances, for publication or exhibition. This guide also provides information on copyright and use restrictions as well as our fees for digitization services.
If you would like to work with the library to create a new digital collection that the library will manage and make available as a part of its archives, please visit the Requests for new collections page.
Special Collections and University Archives materials may be protected by copyright. The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) mandates that users follow the laws governing photocopying and the reproduction of copyrighted materials. Libraries, archives, and museums may be authorized to provide photocopies and reproductions for certain uses and the library will determine if authorization is warranted. For example, if a user requires material for private study, scholarship, or research, the request for reproduction is generally granted. If the user publishes (print or web) without permission, or for economic gain, or otherwise exceeds the "fair use" of the materials, they may be in violation of copyright. The library reserves the right to accept or refuse requests to reproduce materials, based on the judgment of the staff and their understanding of copyright law.
Publications or exhibitions
If you are interested in reproducing materials from the Burritt Library's Archives and Special Collections in a publication or public exhibition, you must contact the Archives and Special Collections librarian with a detailed description of what materials you intend to use and how they will be used. This description must be provided in writing and you must obtain written permission before using the materials.
All materials that are under copyright are subject to the use restrictions of the copyright holder.
All reproductions of library materials must cite the Elihu Burritt Library as the source of the materials.