It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this LibGuide is to provide make international and immigrant students aware of the support services available to them on campus as well as to promote the centers on campus devoted to different ethnic groups.
"Established in 1986 with a grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission, the Connecticut Polish American Archive (CPAA) collects, preserves and makes accessible documents related to the history of the Polish American community, with a special emphasis on the history of the Polish Americans in Connecticut and New England. CPAA is located in the Elihu Burritt Library at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Conn. and is an integral part of CCSU's Polish Studies Program."
Narodowe Archiwum Cyfrowe (National Digital Archives) is the national archive of Poland, formed 8 March 2008 from the merger of the Archives of Audio-Visual Records and the State Archives of Poland. It acts as the national archive for Poland and holds the central archives of the Poland government. They are the state official archives and aim to provide digital files as a response to the development of recording, storing and access technologies.
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Polish Books & eBooks from the CCSU Library
The Polish American Encyclopedia by James S. Pula (Editor); Anna Jaroszynska-Kirchmann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-12-09
This encyclopedic reference work has three types of entries: thematic essays, topical entries, and biographical entries. The essays synthesize existing work to provide interpretations of important aspects of the Polish American experience. The topical entries identify specific places, events, or organizations. The biographical entries identify Polish Americans who have made significant contributions at the regional or national level
Polish Families and Migration since EU Accession by Anne White
Call Number: CCSU Polish - Stack 2 DA125 P6 W458
Based on 115 interviews with Polish mothers in the UK and Poland, as well as a specially-commissioned opinion poll, this topical book discusses recent Polish migration to the UK. In a vivid account of every stage of the migration process, the book explores why so many Poles have migrated since 2004, why more children migrate with their families and how working-class families in the West of England make decisions about whether to stay. Covering many broader themes - including livelihoods and migration cultures in Poland, experiences of integration into UK communities and issues surrounding return to Poland - this book is highly relevant to migration policy across Europe and beyond.
Religious Life in Poland by Christopher Garbowski
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-01-13
"This book provides a concise historical outline of religion in Poland up until its entry into the European Union in 2004, together with a longer presentation of contemporary religious issues. Albeit largely mono-ethnic and overwhelmingly Catholic after the loss of its large Jewish population to the Holocaust, and subsequent post-World War II border shifts, traces of an historic diversity remain in Poland to date, playing a greater role than mere numbers would suggest. Poland's fairly robust religious life is affected by the country's continuing modernization and its various institutions, and this is discussed within a broad context. One of the unfortunate legacies of decades of communism is a stunted civil society; while at different levels there are conflicts involving religion, at the grassroots it is one of the few forces building much needed trust in present-day Polish society."
Traitors and True Poles by Karen Majewski
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
"During Poland’s century-long partition and in the interwar period of Poland's reemergence as a state, Polish writers on both sides of the ocean shared a preoccupation with national identity. Polish-American immigrant writers revealed their persistent, passionate engagement with these issues, as they used their work to define and consolidate an essentially transnational ethnic identity that was both tied to Poland and independent of it."