LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

Find Open Textbooks

Affordable Learning Georgia (GALILEO)
Includes open textbooks and ancillary materials.
American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative
"Collection of basic to advanced level math textbooks that have been reviewed and approved by the American Institute of Mathematics."
BC Campus OpenEd
A collection of over 70 openly-licensed textbooks created or revised by faculty at British Columbia's post-secondary institutions.
FlatWorld
Publisher of online textbooks at affordable prices.
MERLOT Open Textbooks
Keyed to open textbook material type
National Science Digital Library
"Provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines..."
OER Commons
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources."
OpenStax
An initiative of Rice University, high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Open SUNY Textbooks
A catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
Open Textbook Library
"Includes a collection of openly-licensed and free-to-download textbooks for Business, Economics, Social Sciences, Natural and Physical Sciences, Humanities, and more."
Sitz Zeager Open Source Mathematics
Free trigonometry, algebra, and precalculus textbooks which can be downloaded as PDF documents. Developed by mathematics professors Carl Stitz and Jeff Zeager, winners of the University System of Ohio's 2010 Faculty Innovators Award.

Find Images, Video, and Audio

Helpful Guide from Harvard Law School Library

Other

Google Images
Apply filter for "Usage RIghts" under Tools
MorgueFile
The Noun Project
Pixabay
Unsplash

Start with a Plan

Just as we advise our students when conducting research to take the time to think about what they are looking for, where they might go, and what they might do when they get there, the same can be true for searching for OER. The OER Starter Kit provides a planning worksheet, short video on the search process, and tips and techniques for finding the OER you desire.

Find Open Educational Resources (OER)

Listed here are OER repositories. A repository may include textbooks, readings, videos, assignments, lessons, simulations, and other course-related materials.

Check out the Mason OER Metafinder search engine to help you locate OERs. It searches 21 of the leading OER repositories with a single query. Users can perform broad queries across all sources or they can search for terms in full record, title, or author(s). You can also specify a date range and narrow their searches to a specific date range.

Also, SUNY's OASIS, the Openly Available Sources Integrated Search that searches open content from 97 different sources.

See Videos on the "How to Find OER" page.

MERLOT
More than 44,000 open educational courses & resources in a shared, curated, online repository. Many of these resources have been peer-reviewed. At least one CCSU faculty member has added materials to this repository. MERLOT II went live in early 2014. The organization now uses the Quality Matters online educational rubric to ensure quality in the materials that are posted to MERLOT.
OER Commons
"OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement."
Open Course Library
Funded by the Gates Foundation & the Washington State legislature & managed by that state's Board of Community & Technical Colleges, this library of courses were designed to help reduce costs of educational materials for higher education students while retaining the highest possible quality of those resources.
Open Courses from Lumen Learning
Lumen Learning supports faculty as they identify and select high quality OER, align these to learning outcomes, and assemble them to make high quality OER-based courses. We then provide free access to these openly licensed courses to the education community.
Open Courseware (MIT)
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Open Courseware Consortium
The OpenCourseWare Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education globally.
more...less...
OpenCourseWare is the name given to open educational resources that are presented in course format, often including course planning materials, such as syllabi and course calendars, along with thematic content, such as textbooks, lectures, presentations, notes and simulations. Open Educational Resources are materials developed by experienced educators that are available for use, repurposing, and modification (including translation), in whole or in part, by everyone, everywhere in the world.
Open Culture
"Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community."
Open Education Initiative at UMASS Amherst
OpenStax CNX
Open educational resources in small modules, including open textbooks. Supported by William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, 20 Million Minds Foundation, Maxfield Foundation, Open Society Foundations, and Rice University. Powered by OpenStax CNX
P2PU
Peer-to-Peer University is a set of online courses that are created by anyone who wants to contribute to them and can be taken for free by anyone. Their tagline is "LEARNING BY EVERYONE. FOR EVERYONE. ABOUT ALMOST ANYTHING. COMPLETELY FREE"
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
A nonprofit initiative started in 2008, Saylor Academy's mission is to offer free and open online courses. Their textbook collection is largely comprised of business resources.
See what Oregon's Colleges are using for OER - by course
Tidewater Community College
Open educational resources for underclassman courses, including journals, textbooks and courseware.

Subject-specific

COERLL
A collection of language learning resources.
National Academies Press
Over 5,000 titles available for free download in PDF format in the sciences, engineering, and medicine.
NOBA
A free and open collection of teaching resources for Psychology. Sponsored by Diener Education Fund (DEF).
PhET: Interactive Simulations for Science and Math
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. Written in Java, Flash or HTML5, these can be run online or downloaded to your computer. All simulations are open source.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Find Open Textbooks

Find Images, Video, and Audio

Other

Start with a Plan

Find Open Educational Resources (OER)

OER at the Elihu Burritt Library