LibGuides: English: ENG 492 Literature for Young Adults: Find Articles

Search the Article Databases

The databases listed on this page are some of our more popular choices; however, we have many more for you to choose from.

A complete list is found here. Sort by 'Subject' or 'Database Type'. For example, your professor mentioned you might also want to look at psychological and sociological databasess.

Popular Databases by Type (Just a Few Suggestions)

Background (Reference) Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
GVRL provides reference titles in many subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology

Biography Databases

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Source offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
Scribner writers This link opens in a new window
Biographical information and essays about writers.
Twayne's authors series This link opens in a new window
Criticism on hundreds of years of literature--from Aristophanes to Bharati Mukherjee. Provides critical introductions to the lives and works of approximately 600 authors and introductions to the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.

Literary Criticism Databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors,Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twayne's Author Sereis, and About the author. You may search each individually, or you may search all three databases with one search statement.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text (PDF) content amalgamated from ten of Gale's top literary criticism series, including 19th Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism and Drama Criticism. Complete backfile, beginning with Vol. 1, available for all titles in the series.
Twayne's authors series This link opens in a new window
Criticism on hundreds of years of literature--from Aristophanes to Bharati Mukherjee. Provides critical introductions to the lives and works of approximately 600 authors and introductions to the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.

General (Multidisciplinary) Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
MasterFILE premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Indexing dates back to 1926 and includes more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included

More Databases to Choose From!

You can find a complete database listing on the A-Z Databases page by clicking on the 'Databases' tab from the Library's homepage. Filter the listing by Subject (All Subjects) (such as Psychology) or Type of Database (All Database Types) (such as Primary Source or Reference) by pulling down those menus.