LibGuides: Nurse Anesthesia Practice Research Guide: Find Credible Websites

Select Websites

Websites are listed alphabetically.

Finding Clinical Practice Guidelines

American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology
The AANA has developed a collection of clinical resources to help CRNAs/nurse anesthesiologists support the healthcare team in addressing the unique and acute and chronic needs of each patient.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
This resource provides access to clinical practice guideline briefs and scorecards that provide ratings on how the guidelines meet the Institute of Medicine (IOM) standards for trustworthiness. The ECRI assisted the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) in maintaining the National Guidelines Clearinghouse before it was shut down. Registration is required and currently free.
US Preventative Services Task Force
The US Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve all Americans' health by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
Guideline Central
This site provides access to current clinical practice guidelines and guideline summaries.

Databases

The following databases contain practice guidelines established by professional organizations and published in their journals. You can ﬁnd the published guidelines in a search of these databases.

CINAHL with full-text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Professional Organizations/Societies/Associations

Professional organizations create practice guidelines; therefore, many are available through the organization's website. In many cases, this will require you to be a member of the organization to access the guideline. If you can get the guideline information from the website, you can use the information to request a copy through the library's interlibrary loan service.

Scientiﬁc Societies

You can also find practice guidelines can also be through scientific organizations, such as the following: