Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Elihu Burritt Library homepage
Research Help
In person | Chat | Email
Phone: (860) 832-2060

Design Research Guide

Use this research guide as your first stop in finding books, articles, websites, and more on the subject of graphic and information design.

Welcome Design Students

This guide covers the basics of finding different types of information resources including books (both print and online), magazines, newspapers, scholarly journal articles, and credible web info. There are also pages dedicated to evaluating what you find and citing your sources, including images. Design courses cover a lot of different topics and techniques so if you have any suggestions for additions to this guide, we would love to hear from you! Email us at jhansen@ccsu.edu with the subject line: Design Research Guide.

Library Tour

Welcome to a photo gallery of what you'll find when you stop by the Library. Remember your mask, and enjoy a beverage and snack before your visit.

Outside of Library Building

The Elihu Burritt Library is located in between the Student Center and Kaiser Hall. The beautiful new Engineering Building is right next to us but not on this map yet!

Campus map

Check out your items at the Circulation Desk.

You will also find Course Reserves here, as well as helpful staff to answer your questions.

Photo of Library Circulation Desk

There are charging stations for your devices throughout the Library.

Charging Station

Scanners allow you to scan documents and email or download them to a USB drive.

Picture of scanner

Use Central Search accessed through the library’s home page (ccsu.edu/library) to search for items. To locate physical items within the library, apply filters such as Physical and Books. Make note of the “address” (call number) of your item. In this case, N72 A76 B75 2019.

Screenshot of a record found through Central Search

There are total of 8 floors of book 'stacks' in the Library labeled 'S' (i.e. S1 - S8) and four main floors. The map tells you that books beginning with a 'N' are found on the Stack 4.

Library Map

This sign provides details about the Library of Congress subject headings and hangs in the elevator.  'N' books are in the Fine Arts subject area. If this is your major, you will become very familiar with this area. It works the same way with other subjects.

Library of Congress Classification sign

Find the number range on the side of the shelf and zero in on the address of the book. The neighboring books may also be of interest - take some time to browse!

On the 2nd floor, you will find our "Ask Us" desk staffed by reference librarians who can help answer your research questions.

Photo of Library Reference Desk

The library instruction classroom (EB205) is also on the 2nd floor.  Your professor may tell you your class is "meeting in the library" and this is mostly likely where!  Also, offices for the reference/instruction librarians are found on this floor.

Photo of Library Classroom 205

Finally, Special Collections, which includes the University Archives, Polish Archives, Rare Books, Gender Equity Collections, and more is found here.

Pic of door to Special Collections

Computers are available on the 2nd and 4th floors. There are disinfecting wipes available on both floors. Patrons are responsible for wiping the keyboard and mouse down, before and after each use.

Picture of computer

You will find black and white printers on the 1st, 2nd, and 4th floors. There is also a 3D printer on the 2nd floor.

 

Pic of printer

 A copier is available in Stack 3/2nd floor on the other side of the elevators near the Media Center. (The Media Center is where students can borrow various media equipment such as digital cameras, camcorders, tripods, and more.)

Pic of copier

On Stack 5, you will find group study rooms.

Pic of a Group Study Room

Throughout the library, you will find various seating options such as these comfy chairs and nooks and crannies for studying. Come in and find your spot!

Pic of comfortable chairs

The 3rd floor is mostly classrooms.  You may see from your schedule that your classroom meets in 'EB301-01' for example - that room is found on this floor.

Pic of 3rd floor classroom sign

The 4th floor is designated for 'Quiet Study'.

Quiet Floor sign

In addition to quiet study on the 4th floor, computers, a printer, and scanner, you will find the Curriculum Lab (pictured here) as well as the Latin American, Latino, and Caribbean Center.

Pic of the Curriculum Lab

We hold a number of educational and fun events and offer displays throughout the year.  

Pics of various library events

Thank you for viewing the Library's photo gallery. Please stop by soon and check us out in person!  

Picture of library staff

Navigating the Library Website

Report a tech support issue

Elihu Burritt Library
(access via Harold Lewis Drive)
Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06050

CCSU Home | Central Pipeline | CentralSearch / Catalog | Sign In to CentralSearch | Search Library Website