There are many online repositories where you can find data sets that can support your research. This page provides a number of those repositories as well as tips for how to search for data. You can always schedule an appointment with a librarian if you need help finding data for a project.
Much of the content of this page comes from Davidson College's guide on How to Find Data.
1. Define the type of data you need
Consider what/who is being measured, where is it collected, when, and how often
2. Determine who collects the type of data you are looking for
Think of who has a stake in collecting this data. Also consider who the audience of the data might be. This will help you determine where the data is likely published and how accessible the data is.
An Example:
3. Start searching for data
Again, keep in mind who collects the data and what this means for where it is located.
This is a good strategy if you are not sure what types of variables exist or what data would be relevant for your project
This guide provides several links to data sources by topic. These links are by no mean exhaustive, but can be a good place to start and can help you get a sense of who are some of the major collectors of data in your topic area.
This can be a good strategy if you have a sense of who is a major source of the sort of data you are seeking.
Has several collections of datasets on environmental topics, with categories such as Climate.
Datasets on climate and weather collected using various methods, such as satellite and weather balloon.
Climate maps and datasets from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association.
Portal to a vast amount of data from the Environmental Protection Agency, which covers topics ranging from agriculture, air, climate change, energy, pollutants, sustainability and more.
Vast collection of climate data. Includes tools to create graphs and tables.
International data relevant to the environment. WorldBank includes data from various countries, with an emphasis on developing countries. Add a country to the search bar to narrow to a specific country.
Compiles crime and justice sources from numerous organizations and agencies.
Crime data collected by various law enforcement agencies across the U.S. These compiled statistics are published by the FBI annually.
International Statistics on drugs, crime, and criminal justice. Use the UNODC Data Portal to explore data.
Vital statistics includes data on natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Provides access to recent U.S. population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Historical U.S. Census data (1790-2010) and demographics from the American Community Survey and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2000).
Demographic data compiled by the UN from national statistical authorities.
Demographic indicators from different countries and regions around the world. Includes, population, fertility, and mortality.
Indicators, including demographic indicators, from various countries. Has a special focus on indicators relevant to delveloping countries.
Data about U.S. education ranging from kindergarten to the graduate level.
Provides educational data categorized by topic.
Data about member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Reports and data addressing international education policy for more than 200 countries.
IES (The Institute of Education Sciences) mainly collects data for U.S. Department of Education, which includes compiling international comparative data.
Global education data from 211 countries, with a particular focus on developing countries.
Election results from 1956-2008 for presidential, gubernatorial, and congressional elections at the state level.
Voter turnout information for U.S. Elections from 2000-2016.
Comprehensive statistics on U.S. Presidential elections from 1789 to the present.
Several tools for finding data on topics related to democracy abroad.
Data and information about the electoral processes of countries around the world.
Free datasets showing results of electoral contests from over 100 countries. Created by David Lublin, Professor of Government in the School of Public Affairs at American University.
The Center for Disease and Control is a main contributor to information about health and medicine in the United States. The CDC provides several ways to access their data:
The landing page for all data and statistics compiled and created by the CDC.
Organizes statistics and statistical sources by subject area. An excellent place to browse for health data topics.
Searchable database of CDC data.
Provides information about programs and services, grants and contracts, and laws and regulations.
Creates and organizes US government information and services related to health.
Provides world health indicators from countries who are members of the World Health Organization (194 countries).
Data collected by the Population Reference Bureau, a non-profit organization which collects information related to international health, population, and environment.
A collection of data complied by the World Health Organization, an agency of the United Nations dedicated to issues surrounding international public health.
US Government agency in charge of supplying nations with foreign aid. This priority often intersects with global health.
Progress-reports on the United Nation's sustainable development goals. These goals are formed to "promote prosperity while protecting the planet."
Contains official statistics produced by countries as well as statistics, estimates, projections, indicators, and other data from United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions and other United Nations agencies. Subjects covered include agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, and tourism.
Tracks data related to global health and demographics, such as census reports, vitals statistics, and surveys. Supported by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME).
From the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education, this resource provides data on equity in College Sports from schools that receive Title IV funding.
A collection of business data related to professional and college sports.
Provides game and player statistics for baseball, basketball, and hockey.
Elihu Burritt Library
Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley Street,
New Britain, CT 06050 - Map
CCSU Home | Central Pipeline | CentralSearch / Catalog | Sign In to CentralSearch | Search Library Website
