LibGuides: Love Data Week: Maps

Maps

Maps are representations of geospatial data. Below you can find links to a number of resources related to maps, including databases and journals with academic resources related to geography and tourism; a variety of map-making tools; digitized maps; interactive maps; and information on how to cite maps.

Geography and Tourism Databases

TRID
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,695 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. 3,834 include full text, 2,788 are peer reviewed.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,475,985 full text articles in 923 reference books from 111 publishers on every topic.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is focused on comprehensive coverage of geoscience literature published worldwide. The content is indexed with geoscience terms from the GeoRef Thesaurus, and geolocation data (latitude/longitude) is also assigned, when applicable. GeoRef is the most in-depth A&I database available for geoscience literature and research. It helps researchers to address some of the most urgent environmental concerns, such as: Continuing need for natural resources including critical minerals and fossil fuels, critical shortages in clean water supplies, preparedness for natural disasters – earthquakes, tsunamis, and developing changes in climate.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes online access to the full-text of more than 30 peer-reviewed journals in the earth sciences and geology. All titles have backfiles to 2000 and some have complete runs back to 1911.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records from more than 500 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1965, and includes full text for more than 200 journals.

Geography and Tourism Journals

E-Journal Search

Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Cartography Journals
A search conducted in CentralSearch for keyword "cartography" and resource type "journal".
Geography Journals
A search conducted in CentralSearch for keyword "geography" and resource type "journal".
Tourism Journals
A search conducted in CentralSearch for keyword "tourism" and resource type "journal".

Some Online Mapping Tools

ArcGIS
An application for mapping and geospatial analysis that allows users to create their own maps from scratch starting with geographic data.
ArcGIS StoryMaps
Create immersive stories combining text, interactive maps, and other multimedia content.
ArcGIS WorldMap
Open-source mapping software for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information.
Carto
A cloud based mapping, analysis and visualization engine that can build spatial applications for both mobile devices and the web. Users can input tabular data and then construct an interactive visualization.
Google Earth
A 3D mapping program from Google that provides access to satellite images of (almost) the entire planet. The premium version, Google Earth Pro, provides additional tools and is available for free.
StoryMap JS
A tool for creating stories using maps. Useful for recreating journeys or providing a tour of a place or image.

Find Maps and Statistics

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Geography and Tourism Websites

Librarians have evaluated various internet search results and identified these sites as having credible and authoritative information of possible interest to students conducting research in Geography and Tourism. It is not an exhaustive list but a great place to start!

Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a scientific and educational society founded in 1904. its 10,000 members share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography and geographic education.
Connecticut Department of Tourism
The official website for the State of Connecticut.
Encyclopedia of Earth
An online reference source about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, expert-reviewed collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each others work. The articles are written in non-technical language and are useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
FOCUS on Geography
Focus on Geography is a publication of the American Geographical Society. This is a great interactive resource with quizzes, photo essays, and articles.
National Geographic Society
The National Geographic Society is one of the world's largest nonprofit scientific and educational organizations. Founded in 1888 to "increase and diffuse geographic knowledge," the Society's mission is to inspire people to care about the planet.
U.S. Geological Survey
A multi-disciplinary federal science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information.
World Tourism Organization
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO/OMT) is a specialized agency of the United ‎Nations and the leading international organization in the field of tourism. It serves as a ‎global forum for tourism policy issues and a practical source of tourism know-how.‎

Digitized Maps

CIA Worldfact Book Maps
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Dave Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
Library of Congress Map Collections
Maps from the Library of Congress digital collections including general maps, Civil War maps, railroads, national parks, and more.
National Map of the USGS
As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
National Park Service Maps
National park system maps and national trail system maps and guides available in an A-Z list or searchable by state.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The map collection of the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin.
U.S. Census Bureau Maps & Data
Geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
U.S. Digital Map Library
Digital maps of the US, states, and counties from the USGen Web Archives Project.
U.S. Forest Service Maps
Maps of Forest Service roads, trails, recreation sites, wilderness areas, and wild & scenic rivers. The site also includes topographic and motor vehicle use maps.
USGS National Geologic Map Database
Historical topographic maps, geologic maps, geologic names, and charts from the United States Geological Survey.

Interactive Maps

Esri Story Maps
Esri Story Maps are a simple yet powerful way to inform, engage, and inspire people with any story you want to tell that involves maps, places, locations, or geography. They make it easy for you to harness the power of maps to tell your story.
Harvard World Map
Harvard WorldMap is an online, open source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information. The system attempts to address the gap between desktop GIS which is generally light on collaboration, and web-based mapping systems which often don't support the inclusion of large datasets.
National Geographic Mapmaker Interactive
Customize one-page maps and download, email, print, or share!
What Was There
The WhatWasThere project was inspired by the realization that we could leverage technology and the connections it facilitates to provide a new human experience of time and space – a virtual time machine of sorts that allows users to navigate familiar streets as they appeared in the past.