Education Research Guide

Use Canva’s drag-and-drop feature and professional layouts to design consistently stunning graphics. - Website

Gamifying your classroom, school or district and make school meaningful for your students while teaching to the whole child. Transform your classroom with simple yet powerful tools that save you time and streamline class management. Comfortable for you. Effective for your students. - Website

Committed to the exploration of cultural, environmental, and social issues, we offer a rich library of multimedia stories comprised of award-winning films, photo essays, and articles. Companion curriculum and discussion guides are also available. All for free. - Website

Kapwing is a modern editor for images, GIFs, and videos.

Interdisciplinary learning using The New York Times. Lesson plans available for English Language Arts, Social Studies, Science & Math, ELL & Arts.

Loom brings the richness of video to work. Capture your screen, record your front-facing camera, and narrate it all at once, then instantly share with a simple link. - Website

Share My Lesson is a destination for educators who dedicate their time and professional expertise to provide the best education for students everywhere. Share My Lesson members contribute content, share ideas, get educated on the topics that matter, online, 24/7. We issue Creative Commons licenses, and we do not share our members' private data with anyone. - Website

SchoolTube.com® was founded in 2007 and is the nation’s largest K-12 moderated video sharing platform specifically designed for students and educators. - Website

Upload and share your PowerPoint presentations, Word documents and Adobe PDF Portfolios on SlideShare. Also, search for presentations on your topics.

The goal of Teacher Tube is to provide an online community for sharing instructional videos. It seeks to fill a need for a more educationally focused, safe venue for teachers, schools, and home learners. It is a site to provide anytime, anywhere professional development with teachers teaching teachers. It is also a site where teachers can post videos designed for students to view in order to learn a concept or skill.

Online workshops and arts educational activities aimed at all ages.

Collaborative online art projects and exchanges between teachers, students, and art professionals from across the globe.

Kennedy Center and the National Endowment for the Arts. Information, resources, and ideas that support the arts as a core subject area in the K-12 curriculum. For artists, teachers, and students.

AEP is a national network of organizations dedicated to advancing the arts in education through research, policy and practice. - Website

The Getty Center for Education in the Arts, K-12. Includes lesson plans, discussion of art education issues, and information on professional development for art educators.

On this site you can find free art lessons, news, art resources, art careers, schools, and help for new art teachers. - Website

Where visual arts teachers, scholars, researchers and professors, students, administrators, art museum educators, and artists come together around a shared belief in the power of the arts in developing human potential.

National Gallery of Art site with thematic lesson plans and a resource finder to search the NGA extensive collection of lessons and resources; includes game-like activities designed for students.

Book Creator is a simple tool for creating awesome digital books. Create your own teaching resources or have your students take the reins. - Website

BoomWriter motivates students to do their best writing and is super easy for teachers to use. - Website

CommonLit delivers high-quality, free instructional materials to support literacy development for students in grades 3-12. - Website

The Excelsior OWL is designed to provide support for writers as they begin the process of writing for college and as they transition to writing outside of their introductory writing classes or programs. - Website

Teaching resources include teaching modules for the more commonly taught plays as well as access to an online teacher community.

Newsela is an education technology startup dedicated to transforming the way students access the world through words. [Newsela] publish[es] high-interest news and nonfiction articles daily at five levels of complexity for grades 2-12 using a proprietary, rapid text-leveling process. By combining relevant and interesting nonfiction content with standards-aligned assessments, Newsela gives educators the primary solution to dramatically improve students’ literacy skills for the 21st century. - Website

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material...as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction. - Website

​ReadWorks is committed to solving America’s reading comprehension crisis and student achievement gap. Driven by cognitive science research, ReadWorks creates world-class content, teacher guidance, and integrated tools that improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement. - Website

Teen Ink [is] a national teen magazine, book series, and website devoted entirely to teenage writing, art, photos, and forums...Teen Ink is devoted to helping teens share their own voices, while developing reading, writing, creative and critical-thinking skills. -Website

AllSides for Schools helps educators teach essential skills in critical thinking, collaboration, listening and respectful discourse, media literacy, and social-emotional learning. - Websites

NewseumED.org offers free resources to cultivate the First Amendment and media literacy skills essential to civic life. Learn how to authenticate, analyze and evaluate information from a variety of sources and put current events in historical context through standards-aligned lesson plans, videos, primary sources, virtual classes and programs. - Website

SHEG seeks to improve education by conducting research, working with school districts, and reaching directly into classrooms with free materials for teachers and students. HEG 's current work focuses on how young people evaluate online content. -Website

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations. - Website

Time.Graphics always aims to be the fastest, most modern and attractive way of making timelines. - Website

Resource providing math videos, math practice questions, and worksheets with answers for levels K - 12.

Graph functions, plot data, evaluate equations, explore transformations, and much more. - Website

GeoGebra is dynamic mathematics software for all levels of education that brings together geometry, algebra, spreadsheets, graphing, statistics and calculus in one easy-to-use package. - Website

Provides instructional videos for students K - 6 as well as games, puzzles, worksheets, and word problems.

This site, from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), features complete lesson plans, mobile games for students, interactive activities, and brain teasers for levels K - 12.

High-quality educational resources for teachers and students to know, use, and enjoy mathematics [for K - 12]. - Website

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. - Website

Organized by grade or subject, your students can play math games and get homework help. K - 7.

This National Science Foundation-supported project provides a large library of interactive, web-based virtual manipulatives and concept tutorials for math instruction.

Prodigy is a curriculum-aligned math platform, used by 800,000 teachers and 30 million students, that allows admins to quantify student achievement with ease. - Website

Educational online math games, from basic operations to algebra and geometry.

Created by Cincinnati Public Radio, Classics For Kids helps teachers use classical music as part of daily classroom activities. Resources include music, games, and information about composers.

The site features games, listen and learn, and various teacher resources, from the Dallas Symphony Orchestra

EarSketch helps you learn music through coding. Use sounds from the EarSketch library or your own sounds along with Python or JavaScript code, to produce studio quality music. - Website

From the Top is America’s largest national platform celebrating the stories, talents, and character of young classically-trained musicians. Through live events, NPR and video broadcasts, scholarships, and arts education programs, we empower these extraordinary young people to engage and inspire music lovers of all ages. - Website

Website by the New York Philharmonic providing games, puzzles, and quizzes for young music learners.

Opus Music Worksheets is a database resource of free printable music education resources for
music teachers and music students to use in private music lessons, classrooms, or self study. - Website

Online tutorials on how to read music and music theory.

At BioInteractive, you can find award-winning multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs, to bring the excitement of scientific discovery into your classroom. Our rich video resources range from a series of short films on evolution, hosted by an award-winning author-scientist, to lectures on the brain given by a Nobel-prize winner—all supplemented by teacher guides and classroom activities. - Website

Developed by teams of scientists and educators, the Earth Exploration Toolbook (EET) is a collection of online Earth system science activities. Each activity, or chapter, introduces one or more scientific data sets and analysis tools that enables users to explore some aspect of the Earth system. [Grades 7 - 12] - Website

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

Welcome to Classroom Resources--a diverse collection of lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students and students' families. Materials are arranged by subject area to help you quickly find resources in your interest area, and then use them to create lesson plans or at-home activities. - Website

Interactive simulations for learning about physics, earth science, biology, and chemistry. K - 12.

Science Friday partners with educators and scientists to create free STEM activities, lessons, and resources for all learners. - Website

Website developed by the University of California Museum of Paleontology. Provides resources for students on learning about evolution. Also provides information for teachers on teaching evolution. K - 12.

Website developed by the University of California Museum of Paleontology. Provides resources for students on learning about the process of science. Also provides information for teachers on teaching science. K - 12.

AppInventor.org is a site for learning and teaching how to program mobile apps with MIT's App Inventor. These tutorials are refined versions of the tutorials that have been on the Google and MIT App Inventor sites from App Inventor's inception. - Website

CoSpaces Edu is an intuitive educational technology enabling students and teachers to easily build their own 3D creations, animate them with code and explore them in Virtual or Augmented Reality. - Website

EarSketch helps you learn music through coding. Use sounds from the EarSketch library or your own sounds along with Python or JavaScript code, to produce studio quality music. - Website

Metaverse is a democratized platform that lets anyone created interactive content in augmented reality. - Website

Learn professional programming languages using an editor that lets you work in either blocks or text. Create art, music, games, and stories. Or invent a program that will change the world. - Website

Tinkercad is a free, easy-to-use app for 3D design, electronics, and coding. It's used by teachers, kids, hobbyists, and designers to imagine, design, and make anything! - Website